Sony HDR-TG1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery

3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery
Discuss 3D (stereoscopic video) acquisition, post and delivery.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2010, 03:54 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Sony HDR-TG1

Has anyone used a pair of Sony HDR-TG1 High Definition Handycam Camcorders for 3D work? As Handycams, they are not professional camcorders. What, however, seems nice about them for 3D work is their 32 mm width, which means you could easily place two of them next to each other and have plenty of room to adjust their distance.

Though I see no synchronization capabilities in their description.

Just trying to build something similar to what Pavel describes here but on a budget.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 08:33 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
well the TG1 is becoming pretty old now, so i think you can find newer camera with same kind of feature for less money and better performance today. (and specially for the fact that 3D require 2 cameras).
i had no problem with far thicker cams like the sanyo FH1.
And take in account that anyway, with a side to side mount, one of the cam will have the lcd (wich open usually to the left) blocked.
that looks not so important, but for example on the FH1, the camera does not power up with the LCD closed. Fortunately you can flip it.
another way to avoid this problem is to mount camera side to side but one flipped up.
you will have to flip the video in post but lots of 3d mount use this trick.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 10:58 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
The flippable LCD is one of the reasons I thought it might be good for 3D. Thanks.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 09:30 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
if you go for realtime monitoring there is another parameter to check.
some cameras (most) have the plugs and some commands hidden behind the lcd.
since the camera are pretty close and you will probably not able to open one of the LCD, this could be a concern.(at least it is on the Sanyo FH1).
It can be solved sometime by making a custom cable, but most of these small camcorders use multi-purpose, strange shaped connectors.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 02:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 352
Giroud is correct. That is one of the reasons why I used camcorders with viewfinders. At the CES, the Canon guy told me that all their camcorders can be controlled with the finder closed. That has to be tried with other brands, because the specs never mention such detail. Camcorder Info has sometimes more data. Some camcorders can be controlled with IR, even with the lcd closed and no viewfinder. I believe that someone mentioned such thing about the Sanyo's, but I may remember wrong. Some have unfortunately the power button under the screen, so even if you can control them with IR, they had to be first turned on out of the mount, then inserved and controlled. That is a pain. I don't know about the particular model you asked about. Try to look over YouTube. Someone always reviews the camcorders there. You can message that person if one can control the camcorder with the screen closed. This is my $0.05 worth. PS. I don't see any IR port or Lanc port on it either, and accordint to the descroption, everything is controlled on the screen,
http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content...view-35556.htm ,
personally, I'd look at something else.
Pavel Houda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 09:00 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
All right, thanks. I shall look somewhere else.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2010, 02:38 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
my 2nd choice would have been canon hf100, all is perfect on this cam , except price.
external power +video out on the back
power button on the top
small enough
good video quality, low light ok.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network