GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery

3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery
Discuss 3D (stereoscopic video) acquisition, post and delivery.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 17th, 2011, 01:26 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Culloden, WV
Posts: 7
GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Has anyone figured out how to process 3D video from the GoPro 3D camera rig in Vegas 10d? I am new to Vegas and can't seem to get the simplest anaglyph output to work. When I setup the project for Stereoscopic red/cyan anaglyph, dorp the clips on the timeline and render them, I only get output as from a single camera.
Thanks
Robert Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2011, 01:10 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Hi
You have to place the L and R clips on your timeline above-below in perfect sync.
After that, select both, right click and choose "Pair as 3D subclip"
One clip disappear, which remain is a 3D subclip now.
You can adjust the alignment, by dropping the new "Stereo 3D adjustment" videofx to that clip.
After editing, hit "file/render as" and render in a format you want. I don't recommend anaglyph, because
of hard color compression, this result lot of ghosting. Instead render to half sidebyside or separate left/right file, and watch with Stereoscopic player.

Oh, don't forget to share your finished clip with us! :-)

I also plan to buy 2 gopro's and the 3D housing for aerial/car shots.
Can you upload a very short sample from the gopro video in native format?
I found just youtube and another compressed videos, but i like to see the original quality
before buying the whole system.

thank you very much
Marton
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2011, 09:39 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Culloden, WV
Posts: 7
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Thanks, the pairing was the step I was missing. Is there any way to adjust the vertical alignment of the two clips? My GoPros are aligned well vertically. I can adjust this using the CineForm Software but I would prefer to do all editing in Vegas.
Robert Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2011, 09:45 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

yes, i wrote it to you:
"You can adjust the alignment, by dropping the new "Stereo 3D adjustment" videofx to that clip."

Vertical, horizonatl, rotation, flipping and even keystone adjustment!
Vegas rocks! :-)
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2011, 10:35 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Culloden, WV
Posts: 7
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Thanks again, but I only see horizontal adjustment available with the plugin. How do I get vertical adjustment?
Robert Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2011, 10:37 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Hit the triangle next to "corrections"...
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2011, 05:54 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Culloden, WV
Posts: 7
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Thanks that did the trick. I will try to post some sample soon.
Robert Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2011, 08:01 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prech Marton View Post
Hi
You have to place the L and R clips on your timeline above-below in perfect sync.
After that, select both, right click and choose "Pair as 3D subclip"
One clip disappear, which remain is a 3D subclip now.
Pretch, let's say you needed to get that disappearing right eye back into the timeline to perhaps color correct it or slip the sync a bit, how would you undo that "pair as 3D subclip" proceedure to do that after you had edited with that subclip for a while so it wasn't available as an immediate "undo" ?
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2011, 08:15 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: hungary
Posts: 462
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Yes, you cannot "unpair" after pairing, but here is the solution:
when you drop a video fx to a 3D subclip event, and open the FX properties,
you will see TWO checkbox above, next to the fx name.

Why two? One for left stream, one for the right :-)
So you can correct just one view...

Marton
__________________
Relaxing clips with waterfalls and music, 3D photos, 3D videos:
www.3d-video.hu
Prech Marton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2011, 09:29 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
Re: GoPro 3D to Vegas 10d workflow?

Well at least that's something. . .
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network