3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery

3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery
Discuss 3D (stereoscopic video) acquisition, post and delivery.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2012, 10:18 AM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 166
Re: 3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter

The TS is 60i. The captured content is 24P. The captured L and R files are full resolution, 24P files. A TV MIGHT automatically switch to side-side mode and expand the output from the camera, but the Ultrastudio will not.
David M. Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2012, 05:19 AM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 152
Re: 3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter

Maybe the import question for Ultrastudio 3D is, if the output from hdmi has bypassed the compression from the hardware-encoder in the Z10K or not. Do you know what is true for the Z10K?

Beside that the Z10K is a 8bit camera with 4:2:0 - so to shoot uncompressed in 10bit and up to 4:4:4 is nice, but the bottleneck will be the Z10K signalprocessing I think. But I agree that it could make sense to capture at least in 4:2:2 and 8 bit.
__________________
Kind regards,

Wolfgang
http://videotreffpunkt.com
http://www.vegasvideo.de/forum
Wolfgang Schmid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2012, 02:26 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 166
Re: 3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter

I don't think the camera would encode and then decode the signal to send to the display (EVF, LCD or HDMI). That would be atypical design. The question is - what DOES it do to the signal between reading it off the sensor and outputting to HDMI? I can say that the HDMI output is not especially beautiful, on first look.

Hopefully, I can get some testing done.

By the way, I think the camera does some device detection on the HDMI port. If it senses an HDMI1.4a device, it outputs the 24P in 60i PsF stream. If it detects a 1.3 device, it seems to fall back to 60i SxS (no matter how the camera is configured to shoot).
David M. Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2012, 02:50 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 147
Re: 3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M. Cole View Post
By the way, I think the camera does some device detection on the HDMI port. If it senses an HDMI1.4a device, it outputs the 24P in 60i PsF stream. If it detects a 1.3 device, it seems to fall back to 60i SxS (no matter how the camera is configured to shoot).
Yes it does - I mentioned this a few posts back! :)
Neil Richards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2012, 03:40 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 152
Re: 3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M. Cole View Post
I don't think the camera would encode and then decode the signal to send to the display (EVF, LCD or HDMI). That would be atypical design. The question is - what DOES it do to the signal between reading it off the sensor and outputting to HDMI? I can say that the HDMI output is not especially beautiful, on first look.
Well, it would be great to know that, but I think it is hard to answer without internal Panasonci know-how. But it could be a deal-breaker.
__________________
Kind regards,

Wolfgang
http://videotreffpunkt.com
http://www.vegasvideo.de/forum
Wolfgang Schmid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2013, 09:22 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
Re: 3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter

Would this work for the Sony HDR-D10, the JVC GS-TD1 ?
__________________
mishra.tv Productions
A Sydney-based group for dance movement-based video and film productions.
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2013, 10:59 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
Re: 3D HDMI 1.4a to twin SDI converter

Can anyone please confirm if the HDMI 1.4a output can be split to the two SDI channels from the Ultrastudio 3d and then captured to dual Hyperdeck shuttle ?
__________________
mishra.tv Productions
A Sydney-based group for dance movement-based video and film productions.
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network