PP3 encoding quality at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2007, 11:06 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 9
PP3 encoding quality

Can anyone report on how PP3's Media Encoder compares to PP2? Is the quality any better? I would appreciate any reports!
Kyle Brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2007, 08:24 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 173
Have been using PP2 for all my mpg2 encoding using Media Encoder. Good output or you may try using Adobe DVD Encore TRANSPORTING. Another great mpg2 files when authoring DVD
__________________
Edit on Adobe Creative Suite Production Premium CS5 Mac 64BIT
K.C. Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 04:12 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by K.C. Luke View Post
Have been using PP2 for all my mpg2 encoding using Media Encoder. Good output or you may try using Adobe DVD Encore TRANSPORTING. Another great mpg2 files when authoring DVD
I don't know what you mean by TRANSPORTING. Did you mean TRANSCODING? Whatever, both PP2 and Encore use the same MPEG engine, so they would both result in identical quality. The same applies to CS3, but there is one noticeable improvement over the CS2 version. Encoding HDV to SD has clearly improved.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 11:30 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harm Millaard View Post
I don't know what you mean by TRANSPORTING. Did you mean TRANSCODING? Whatever, both PP2 and Encore use the same MPEG engine, so they would both result in identical quality. The same applies to CS3, but there is one noticeable improvement over the CS2 version. Encoding HDV to SD has clearly improved.

Clearly improved? as in, is it good now?

Ive been using a painfully slow process to get good quality from CS2, if this is true Harm I think that is wonderful.

Steve
Steve Montoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 02:22 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
There was a softness to the scaling down of HDV to SD that was fixed. So yes, it is good now.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 10:40 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
yes, I've noticed the difference also, there were times when I would have to edit a story on the run for work on my laptop or home computer, then render out as a DV-AVI file, and import into the FCS system at work. Looking at it on the broadcast monitors side by side, you can tell it's improved. Well looks cleaner to me.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 06:52 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 347
same thing with me I can see the difference.
Jose Ortiz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network