frozen at 5 minutes? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 3rd, 2007, 11:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 83
frozen at 5 minutes?

as usual i have a premiere problem...i am seriously considering other nle options for my next project.

recently, for no discernable reason, premiere wont work with clips longer than roughly 5 minutes on the time line. let me explain.

i capture a clip that is a 7 minute take. the clip seems fine, all is right with the world.
i drag said clip onto the time line and prepare to edit.
i scrub to about the 5 minute mark and notice that around that point until the end of the clip is a frozen frame accompanied by the noise neo hears when he gets jacked in for the first time.

what is this?

i havenít added any plug ins, i havenít changed any settings or downloaded any updates.
also, this particular test i captured on my c drive, just to eliminate the external hd i usually use as being the problem.

i am running prem pro 1
i have a good processor and enough ram.

also, the clip plays fine when i try to open it in media player.
is it a scratch disk problem or something?
i am out of ideas.

thanks all for you help!
Jason Leonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2007, 09:45 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 29
Hi Jason,
PPro version 1? It's been a while but I seem to recall similar symptoms when I tried to use Type 1 AVI files. Check your clips to make sure they are Type 2 AVIs. Good luck. -Dan
Dan Wilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2007, 04:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 83
Dan,
Thanks for the input i will check that out...one question though...how do i check if the files are avi1 or 2?
if i right click the filename its only showing avi.
and if its the wrong file type how to i change it?
sorry to sound like such an idiot but i have never had this problem before and so this solution is all new to me.
thanks for your patience.
Jason Leonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2007, 11:45 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
GSpot

A small free utility called GSpot will let you know what type AVI file you have. Just Google around and you'll find it.

Google around on the internet that is... not to be confused with... the "other" G Spot!
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network