Premier Pro CS3 ruler snapping - driving me crazy - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 18th, 2007, 03:38 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Perry View Post
For some reason I can only place a marker at 1 second intervals, not anywhere in between. The odd thing is the actual "current time indicator" has a small blue bar underneath it that protrudes to the right and takes up second in lengh. I looked at images of the timeline in adobe help and it's not there, I am sure it's related to this and am trying to figure out how to disable it. -
That's strange because I can place unnumbered and encore chapter markers at every frame, also snapping can be disabled by clicking on the icon in the timelinewindow.
Maybe you can post a printscreen of your timeline so it's easier to see what's going on?

If you don't manage to solve it I think the only thing you can do is to reinstall premiere and right after that update to version 3.0.1 (374)
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 04:32 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
I am able to place Clip Marker on ANY exact frame in CS3, even with Snapping on and zoomed to full sequence. It's best to navigate by Cursor keys Left and Right - this jumps between single frames.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 04:51 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
Thanks for the help guys. I have uploaded a jpeg of the timeline. As you can see it's zoomed all the way in and as Yossi mentioned, it's snapping to the nearest fame. The project is in 24p (music video) and I am trying to line up the audio track with the exact same audio queue that was on the video shoot. They are off by like 1/2 a frame as you can see. is there any way around this do you know?
Attached Thumbnails
Premier Pro CS3 ruler snapping - driving me crazy-timeline.jpg  
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 05:36 AM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Perry View Post
Thanks for the help guys. I have uploaded a jpeg of the timeline. As you can see it's zoomed all the way in and as Yossi mentioned, it's snapping to the nearest fame. The project is in 24p (music video) and I am trying to line up the audio track with the exact same audio queue that was on the video shoot. They are off by like 1/2 a frame as you can see. is there any way around this do you know?
Ok, this is clearer, this is how it should work; In the timeline window menu (in the right upper corner, very small arrow) select "audio units" and turn off "snapping" on the time line (you can toggle that using "s" on the keyboard)
The timeruler now counts the audio samples instead of videoframes.
Zoom in completely again and you will see that you can drag the audio clip much more accurately.
To change the timeruler back to videoframes again just deselect "audio units" in the time line window menu.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 06:25 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
Noa ~ This is precisely what I was looking for. THANK YOU - I have been trying to find an answer to this all night :) - you saved me a lot of trouble, thanks so much ! Also to the others that posted - changing the timeline to show "Audio Time Units" via the arrow on the right worked like a charm and now I can easily move the audio to the correct placement in the track! - Now I can actually start editing this video :)
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 04:10 AM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Glad that I could help, I have the "premiere pro for windows book" from Antony Bolante which is basicly for version 1.5 but has been a great help for me when I started using premiere. I got mine from a large booksale in Antwerp for only 9 euro which was a bargain. I still use it, even now with premiere cs3.
I'd really reccomend this book as it's easy to read and shows you all the tricks possible, there is an updated version now. http://www.amazon.com/Premiere-Pro-C.../dp/032152635X
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2007, 02:16 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
Thats really great information, I will look for the book - thanks again for sharing your knowledge it's really appreciated!
Rich Perry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network