anti...antivirus at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 17th, 2007, 01:19 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
anti...antivirus

How much of a performance boost would one see when shutting down antivirus software vs. leaving it on while editing on a fast machine running PPCS3?

If there is a boost, what does it depend on?

Thanks all

Jay
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 07:18 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
A Lot!

Antivirus software can practically reduce your editing efficiency to almost nothing, depending on what that software is and what's it doing at the moment. If your antivirus decides it's time for a full scan, forget editing!

Seriously Jay, get a cheap second computer and a $40 KVM switch to hook up both computers to the same monitor/keyboard/mouse speakers and keep your editing machine dedicated exclusively to video.

It was my best invested $40 ever! Now I have an old PC running internet, e-mail, and office programs - fully protected by ZoneAlarm on the highest protection setting, and an editing PC with nothing but the Adobe Suite on it and it's not even connected to the internet. And both of them work perfect.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 07:41 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
What he said. Keep as much 'not' running as much as you can on your editor. And clean often, run virus online, trojan stuff etc every once in a while.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 07:49 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Of course it also depends on what anti-virus software you use. Some are more intrusive and interfere all the time. I just got rid of McAfee for that reason. It is always trying to scan or check for updates even when you don't want it to.

McAfee came up once while I was editing a long project and kept asking to do an update, maybe a dozen times. Finally during the render, it came up again and I could not click it off and it messed up the render and the project.

I now use F-Secure, which never bothers me at all so far.

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 07:51 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
McAfee is a ram hog. I switched to Nod32 from eset. Very small footprint. I also run behind a hardware firewall which keeps me out of trouble.

If a second PC is not an option, you may consider setting up different accounts that are configured accordingly, one for everything, another with minimal services for editing.

You could also create a dual boot scheme for bare bones OS vs bloated.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 08:51 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
Wow...

A lot of thought has gone in to solving your anti-virus hic-ups.

I will have to consider all that was said and figure out the safest way to get the fastest results.

Perhaps I could just shut down McAfee while editing, unplug the ethernet cable if necessary and just fire everything back up again when I am done editing for the day?
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 08:54 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Legere View Post
Wow...

A lot of thought has gone in to solving your anti-virus hic-ups.

I will have to consider all that was said and figure out the safest way to get the fastest results.

Perhaps I could just shut down McAfee while editing, unplug the ethernet cable if necessary and just fire everything back up again when I am done editing for the day?
Ah, there in is the rub. McAfee does not like to be shut down. I found that the only way to completely eliminate my problems was to remove it from the computer.

M
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 09:01 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
Ouch!

A four year deal signed with those guys too:)

Money out the door if I switch it seems.
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2007, 06:20 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Jay...........

I think you'll find that if you stop the software from firing up in the first place, you won't have a problem. If you go here:

http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/view...3161&sliceId=2

and read thoroughly, especially the section titled :

"Disable Non- essential Applications"

it tells you how to do this.

The article is also a mini Bible for ensuring the best system configuration for just about any NLE software running on Win XP.

CS

PS. I personally believe a link to this article should be "stickied" in both this and the general PC Forum. It could solve so many problems for so many people.

Last edited by Chris Soucy; October 18th, 2007 at 06:40 PM. Reason: Addition
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2008, 02:55 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Legere View Post
How much of a performance boost would one see when shutting down antivirus software vs. leaving it on while editing on a fast machine running PPCS3?

If there is a boost, what does it depend on?

Thanks all

Jay
i uninstalled norton last night(took 1hr cuz my laptop was slow) i upgraded to 2 GB RAM and wondered why it was ssssooooo slow so i uninstalled norton and now my laptop is hella fast :)
Cameron Naghibi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network