CS3 detects but doesn't allow cam controls? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 28th, 2007, 12:11 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 13
CS3 detects but doesn't allow cam controls?

Hi guy, wondering if anyone else have notice this issue.

When i plug in my cam, CS3 detects it and shows as online.
I can capture footage fine, however the FF/REW/PLAY/STOP buttons are greyed out. This is a pain as i have to use the on camera controls.
Tested both on XP and Vista with same results, camera i'm using is the Canon Optura60/MVX45i.

Didn't have any of these issues on PP 2.0.
If anyone has any ideas on how to fix this. i'd really appreciate it.
Jim Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2007, 01:02 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
Have you set your device control field to "DV/HDV Device Control"? If it set to "none" the VTR controls will not work. The device control field can be found on the second tab of the capture Window (F5) or at Edit->Preferences->Device Control.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2007, 02:44 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 13
Yup, i did set it to DV/HDV controls.
Also, here're what i set for the additional parameters (same as those i used in PP 2.0, which worked then.)

Video Standard: PAL (I'm using a mvx45i.)
Device Brand: Canon
Device Type: Standard (The mvx45i was not in the drop-down list of models.)
Timecode Format: Non Drop-Frame

Still, no joy...
Jim Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2007, 01:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
Do you have any drivers for you camera to install. The Sony FX1 used to require drivers before XP SP2, for firewire connection. Just a guess, otherwise sorry, no idea.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2007, 08:42 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 13
Yup, drivers for the MVX45i were already installed.

It doesn't make sense why it would work ok in PP 2.0 but not in CS3... :(
Jim Lee is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network