What is wrong? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 1st, 2007, 11:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
What is wrong?

Ehh I dunno... you guys tell me... opinions?

Is it trash? Is there something im doing wrong? Open to harsh critisism ...

Thanks...

http://web.rollins.edu/~agarabaghi/m...7;20nature.mp4

Right click > Save File As

(H.264 ~42megs, ~2:00mins)
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2007, 12:34 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Not really sure what you were trying to do.

You're basic video technique looks fine. It comes across with a very smooth relaxed style. As a "pretty" video piece, I liked the flourish of the skateboarder at the end.

But are you trying to say anything with the video? Part of the grammar of video/film is to put two shots together to create a third meaning. I felt this piece was just a stylish video "slideshow".

Out of 10, I'd give it a 6.0 for style, and a 1.0 for content/story.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2007, 03:28 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 8
I too noticed the slide show feel but i am pretty sure you were just trying to do anyways, just put a bunch of cool stuff together.


(Keep in mind that some of these criticisms could be applied to me as well)

-first thing I noticed was the extremely odd audio transition at the 42 second mark. I guess it just didn't make any sense to me.
-I think one big thing I look forward to in the future is a 35mm adapter. As a result I tried to simulate some sort of DOF lookalike shot just as you have by placing something in the right or left third. to be honest: It got repetitive quick. In my opinion, there is more to a good shot then depth of field. In fact I think a shallow depth of field is only an enhancement but not the core of what makes a good shot. I guess that is something I am learning.
-duck shots were a little boring

I guess it is kind of hard to critique everything because there is no central purpose, too general.

By the way, what were your compression settings?
Danny Hensley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2007, 01:39 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
Thanks guys.

Yea it was just a compilation of video clips that i though were good. No real purpose for the film, i was mainly working on pans, zoom, and colors. The only way I know how to get better with the camera is by filming as much as possible, which is why I have so many random shots. There was not suppose to be a story line at all, or really anything but a "slide show" of clips.

My main goals were:

- Working with the VividRGB preset and seeing how the colors came out?
- Any opinions on this?

- Playing around with my new LS22(2A) tripod and zoom controller and working on getting the camera balanced properly on the head.

- And compressing it down so its downloadable on the internet...

My compression settings are:

H.264
3mbit target and 3mbit max bitrate
480 x 270 resoultion
16:9 aspect ration

Audio is AAC, 48hz
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 04:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
Here is a higher quality, and slightly bigger file version of it...

720p .wmv compression

http://www.simplethoughtproductions....ial_nature.wmv
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 11:35 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 16
Nature Footage

Alessandro,

I have no critisism for you, only praise as I am just a beginner in this field and I would appreciate greatly if you could share your settings and work flow for acheiving your footage output in the .wmv format above. I have been trying to make video half that good for months.

You mentioned the h.264 for the web, what is a good player to view these clips.

I am assuming you are using XHA1 as I am also.

Cheers

Last edited by Steve Jakubowski; December 13th, 2007 at 11:36 AM. Reason: I referenced a clip "below" that was actually "above"
Steve Jakubowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 12:16 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
The 1st clip which was a .mp4 was 3mbit H.264 codec from Adobe.
The .mp4 was:
Format: H.264
Range: Work Area
Preset: Custom

TV Standard: NTSC
Frame Width: 480
Frame Height: 270
Frame Rate: 29.97
Feild Order: None
Pixel Aspect Ratio: Widescreen 2.21:1 (i think thats wrong black boared on the sides)
Profile: Main
Level: 4.2

Bitrate Encoding: VBR 2pass
Target: 3
Max: 3

My work flow, was... import footage into premiere, cut and add music. Export with those settings... lemme know if u have any other questions.

The .wmv was:
Format: Windows media
Range: Work Area
Preset: Selected HDTV 720p 25 High Quality

Frame Width: 1,280
Frame Height: 720
Frame Rate: Same as Source
Pixel Aspect Raio: Square Pixels (1.0)

Decoder Complexity: Auto
Keyframe interval: 4
Buffer Size: Default
Average Biterate: 3
Target Bitrate: 3
Bugger Size: 5
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 12:17 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
oh yea,

Canon XH A1 + VividRGB + Libec tripod
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 06:41 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milan Italy
Posts: 1
Hi Alessandro,
are you italian?
__________________
My Cam: Canon XH-A1 | My editing system: iMac 20" Alluminium 4Gb Ram F.C.P.
Stefano Scavitto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 03:29 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
I sure am.

My mom was born in montoggio outside of genova. My cousins and aunt live outside of Bolognia. We usually visit once of twice a year, this year i got jibbed and the parents went with outh me.

I was living in Genova two summers back working for Costa Cruise Lines, and visit Milano several times, and stay with my family's friends (Zecca's) and watch the F1 race at Monza.
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 02:27 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 16
Alessandro,

"Preset: Selected HDTV 720p 25 High Quality"

I am assuming this means you are shooting in 25f PAL.

"Decoder Complexity: Auto
Keyframe interval: 4
Buffer Size: Default
Average Biterate: 3
Target Bitrate: 3
Bugger Size: 5"

Is the *3* bitrate above referring to 3,000?

Are you using special software like Cineform to capture your footage from the camera?

I'm sure alot of the difference between your results and mine are the source footage, (yours good, mine bad) so I will just keep experimenting as I continue to read what the pro's are saying to each other in this forum. Thanks for the help.

Anyone,

I wonder why there are no preset compressions for 30p in Premier pro, only 24 & 25. Are these somehow better or just more commonly used for HD?
Steve Jakubowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 03:39 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
no , i was shooting at 1080i 60i, but i selected the 25, and then change the fps to match...
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 04:12 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 16
Is that better for you than just shooting 24p (or 25p)? If so why?

Are you using special software like Cineform to capture your footage from the camera?
Steve Jakubowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 10:01 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
well the footage in this was all stills with zooms and slow pans, so im sure 24f might have looked slightly better, but the rest of the stuff i show is usually high speed sports (www.wakevids.com) so 60i works better for me.

No i just import into adobe premiere cs3 and work in there then export from there.
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 10:39 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
Slowing Down Questions?

Ive notice that when I slow down some of my footage it looks fine in the preview window of adobe premiere cs3 it looks fine, but when i export using the H.264 it slightly loose quality...

You can really notice it after the shot of the kid on the back of the boat putting on his life jacket, as he starts to edge into the wake, and then it clears up as the clip goes back to real time when he hits the wake...
http://wakevids.com/?v=001.mp4

any ideas?

My export settings are

H.264 / 16:9 / 3mbit target / 3mbit max. / 4.2 level
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network