Combining/importing projects with edit points intact at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2007, 10:18 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
Combining/importing projects with edit points intact

I've been working on a large project in Premiere Pro 1.5, and split it into 3 parts. Now I would like to combine the three projects into one timeline and continue editing it that way, but every time I try to import a project from one to another, it turns it into one seamless clip with no edit points. Is there a way to do this? It seems like a useful thing to be able to do, as there are sections of one project that need to be shifted to other projects.
__________________
Renegade Province Productions

www.poagao.com
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 12:33 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
Import one .prproj file into the other. Then open both sequences, and copy and paste the contents of one timeline to the other.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 12:49 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
Thanks for replying. The problem is, when I open the imported sequence, it appears as one big clip with no editable clips inside it.
__________________
Renegade Province Productions

www.poagao.com

Last edited by Tao-ming Lin; December 17th, 2007 at 08:57 AM.
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 12:14 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
That should only happen if you nest the imported sequence into the importing sequences. If you open the imported sequence, it should all be there, exactly as it was. Then you cut and paste. You can't drag the sequence from the project window into the timeline, that will nest it.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2007, 09:15 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
Oh, I see, I double click on the sequence rather than dragging it. Thanks!
__________________
Renegade Province Productions

www.poagao.com
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2008, 10:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
Ok, now if I want to export the whole movie from this setup, can I do it without re-integrating the sequences?
__________________
Renegade Province Productions

www.poagao.com
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2008, 10:36 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
I know the above is a stupid question, but I can't seem to find a solid answer in Adobe's "help" section. Anyone?
__________________
Renegade Province Productions

www.poagao.com
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2008, 08:01 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
You can not export all of the sequences as one movie unless you nest them all together. Is that what you are asking?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2008, 10:34 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
I guess so. Right now I have the project split up into four sequences, the tabs of which are over the timeline. So I need to create another sequence and import the four sequences into that sequence (nesting) and then export that? I really just want to change as little as possible, just export it for some people to look at and then continue editing.
__________________
Renegade Province Productions

www.poagao.com
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2008, 12:58 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Yes, import the four Premiere Projects into a new one, create new sequence and then drag the imported sequences into your new one.

If you want to edit these nested sequences, doubleclick them with Alt key, or find your keyboard shortcut for "Reveal nested sequence".

Or alternatively, export each of your sequences as a separate video file and then just import these 4 AVIs (or whatever you export into) and put them into a new sequence. As you need this for a preview, you needn`t worry about rerendering and loss of visual quality.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2008, 01:56 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
Cool, so I can keep on editing the nested sequences within the big overall sequence, and the edits will show up within the whole thing? That's good news, as I can export it at any time without having to combine everything.
__________________
Renegade Province Productions

www.poagao.com
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2008, 12:35 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Yes, that`s exactly the way it is. It can get a little slower (switching to and fro sequences), but if it`s SD you`re editing, you won`t notice a difference.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network