Sync Issues? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 27th, 2007, 11:46 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
Sync Issues?

Im not sure what exactly is going on. But I will try to explain it as best I can.
(2) Canon XH A1s
(4) Tapes of footage total

We had 1 camera above the dancers, and one camera in front of the dancers. Both cameras filmed none stop until intermission, then switched out tapes, and continued filming till the dance was over.

I captured all 4 tapes, and imported them into premiere, as Close Cam - Clip 1, Far Cam - Clip 1 etc... 4 files total.

So now im starting to edit, i dropped Close Cam - Clip 1 in Video / Audio 1. While dropping Far Cam - Clip 1 in Video / Audio 2.

Being that I want to use the multicam editing feature that adobe offers, I followed the tutorial, and found the exact same from on each clip, set a marker (numbered 0). Then Selected Video 1, synconize to numbered marker 0. The clip arrange them selves to be in sync.

This is when the weird part happens, the 1st song is perfectly in sync, but as i scroll to the second and third song, they are not. There are no cuts, no cameras turned off nothing.

I am lost, any clue why this is happening?
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2007, 04:40 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alessandro Garabaghi View Post
I am lost, any clue why this is happening?
Your camera has been dropping one or more frames and since Premiere dont abort capture when the tape has dropped frames the A/V sync is gone. Try to recapture the tape. It will probably dont do the trick because i think that the frame has not been dropped during capture. Its worth trying though.

If you have Premiere Pro CS3 you have OnLocation as well. OnLocation aborts capture when the tape has dropped a frame and restarts a capture when the tape is ok again. You will lost some frames but your clips will be in perfect sync. If you capture the tape with OnLocation you will get two or more clips when you have dropped a frame on the tape, but they will be in perfect sync.
__________________
/Roger
Roger Averdahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2007, 12:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 132
I will keep that in mind next time, as we dont have the original tapes anymore. I dont recall seeing any dropped frames though. Oh well for now im just going song by song...
Alessandro Garabaghi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network