switching between machines at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 2nd, 2008, 06:46 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
switching between machines

I got a new laptop recently and want to use it in conjunction with my other editing pc.
i would like to be able to switch from one to the other easily.
If i place all my files on an external will this be ok.
not just the clips but also the peks etc., and even the project file itself
can i set all the scratch disks and everything to the same ext hard drive?

this would allow me to simply disconnect the drive from one pc and plug into the other and continue to work away on the other machine, right?

If this wont work, why not? could i possibly use 2 ext drives to solve any issues which may arrise?

thanks in advance,
Ger
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2008, 09:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 426
Ger, I have pp2 and I use an external hard drive on my laptop when I'm travelling and then transfer the project back to my main PC all the time. Works fine. Some externals are faster than others but even the cheapest ones will work.
Matt Buys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2008, 11:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 477
That was what I got my latop and Premiere CS3 for, but could never make it work. I always got that message, "where is .File XXX?"
Don't understand why that is so, or what I was doing wrong--if anything. I was using a LaCie external drive 500GB and tried editing with my laptop to do this with, but was not able to make it work reliably.
Matt, how do you do it so you avoid that error message of "where is file...."? I'd like to know how to do this reliably too.
Steve Wolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 02:58 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Make sure that the drive letter is the same on both computers. Use Disk Management to designate the drive as for instance R: as in removable.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 09:42 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
even still, its easy to link one file and it will automatically do the rest.

Im just wondering about the other files neccessary for a project,
like the PEK files & when it says conforming & indexing etc., and even the project file itself.
is it ok to have these on the ext hard drive or
did I hear somewhere before that they must be on the c drive to work properly?
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network