Which hard drive to install Premiere CS3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2008, 09:50 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 208
Which hard drive to install Premiere CS3

I just installed Premiere CS3 on my system. I think I did it right, but please confirm this for me.

I have three hard drives.

C: is my OS, of course.
E: is where I installed it (7200 speed 16MB, 250 GB)
I: is where I intend to do all my capturing and video files (7200 speed, 32MB, 1TB).

I figured that one hard drive could run the main program itself while the big HD (1TB) is dedicated for the video itself.

Good idea or bad?
Lloyd Claycomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2008, 08:59 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lloyd Claycomb View Post
I just installed Premiere CS3 on my system. I think I did it right, but please confirm this for me.

I have three hard drives.

C: is my OS, of course.
E: is where I installed it (7200 speed 16MB, 250 GB)
I: is where I intend to do all my capturing and video files (7200 speed, 32MB, 1TB).

I figured that one hard drive could run the main program itself while the big HD (1TB) is dedicated for the video itself.

Good idea or bad?
There seem to be many over thought theories on this, I did it the way I thought was best so I'll share that, I'm sure that there are some ubergeeks that will have a theory that involves 27 drive partitions and so many physical drives that no power supply known to the computer industry would be able to handle it all.

My setup:

D1-150G 10k Western Digital (OS, Warez, Pagefile etc.
D2/3-1TG Raid 0 (2x 500G WD Drives)- Main Work Drive (Project Files, Captures etc.)
D4-160G 7.2k Western Digital Scrap Drive- Backups, Drive Images (Ghost), Saver Files (Renders to save etc.)

I also have a 1.5TB External drive connected to the box via USB 2.0 that I use for basic day to day stuff, archives, etc. Beyond that I have a 2TB Network drive that is for all my machines but the video system has a large chunk there as well, it's a secondary backup drive for saving important files.

I think that from the OS perspective, to have all your warez and OS on the same drive is the most efficient, my RAID cluster is huge and can accommodate almost any project then when it's done I can re-format that drive before I start a new project. All the project files that I need to save, like renders etc I move to D4 or the network.

Hope this helps.

Miguel
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2008, 04:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 191
I have three drives as well.
The C: drive contains the CS3 Program files. (I don't believe they are in conflict with the OS)
The D: drive contains captured video
The E: drive holds Rendered video
Bill Zens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network