Tmpgenc bars at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2008, 12:53 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Tmpgenc bars

Not sure where to post this, but since I use Adobe...

I output from XH1 to HDlink to Premiere CS3 to Debugmode to Tmpgenc to Encore. Somewhere (I'm pretty sure Tmpgenc) I get black bars on the sides of the 16x9 video. I don't notice it until it shows up in Encore. It also shows up in Classic Media Player when I play Tmpgenc's m2vs. Does anyone else have this problem?

I'ts pretty minor so I can deal with it, but it's annoying. I'm thinking it's just a simple setting I've missed. Don't think there's a Tmpgenc forum and Tmpgenc's documentation tends to be a bit cryptic
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2008, 04:24 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Brad... check your aspect ratio for the clip properties within TMPGenc. Select "16:9 Display", and you may solve your problem.

When I import HDV (CFHD avi) into TMPGenc, it defaults to the "40:33" aspect. It's supposed to be the equivilent to 16:9, but I've found that forcing the display mode of 16:9 will fill your screen, and the aspect seems correct.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2008, 04:37 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Yeah, I found that too. I use the 16:9 display, but always get thin vertical bars down the sides of the picture when I transcode. I'm told that if I use "full screen" and "keep aspect ratio", Tmpgenc will expand to fill the bars but also clip the top and bottom.

Since the bars are thin (but noticeable) I can't really tell if the aspect ratio or the frame size is off by a little. The properties at every step say the same frame size, but something's a bit off.
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2008, 04:49 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Can you post a framegrab?
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 09:41 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Here's a jpeg. See the thin black bands at the right and left? With any kind of overscan they will disappear. Unfortunately, on a lot of digital equipment they won't. Not terrible, just annoying.

I notice the size is 852 x 480. The settings on all programs specify 720 x 480 widescreen. I wonder if there's an interpolation problem?
Attached Thumbnails
Tmpgenc bars-cap001.jpg  
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 12:24 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 64
In TMPGenc, under filters, look for picture resize, then select... Full screen(No margin). That will eliminate the black bars on the sides.
Kevin Dorsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 12:44 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Thanks Kevin, I'll try that.

I just couldn't figure out if I fill the screen, would the picture be slightly stretched or clipped. If that were the case I might opt for the black bands.

On the other hand, maybe the picture is already being squeezed to get the bands??
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 01:09 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 64
The picture will be slightly clipped on the top and bottom. If you are downconverting from an HD source, the quality of the downconversion appears identical to a file that has the bars on the sides. I did a few side by side tests and I couldn't see any difference.

I believe the bands show up because of the slight difference in PAR between 16:9 HDV and 16:9 SD. Hope this helps.
Kevin Dorsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2008, 02:19 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 249
Thanks. I was trying to figure out what kind of tests to run. I think I'll just take your word for it.
Brad Tyrrell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network