Capture device offline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2008, 11:08 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
Capture device offline

Hi,
My JVC GY-HD251 camera is registered correctly under "system-hardware devices", and I am able to use Cineform HDlink for capturing/exporting HDV video to it, but when opening Premiere CS3 capture window, I get the "capture device offline" message.

Can anybody help please? ("Google the problem" gave no answer or solution)

Thanks

Johnnie
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 12:31 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Check that you HDV device drive in Premiere matches your capture interface. If you using CineForm Aspect / Prospect HD with Premiere (and CineForm Preset), use the CineForm HDV Device driver.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 12:43 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
Thanks David,
That was one of the first things I was checking, all was matching, this is not the problem.
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 04:24 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Winchester, VA USA
Posts: 23
Images: 15
Worth a try???

Johnnie:
Premier can be possesive about it's cameras. We have CS3 on Windows and Sony cameras, so I may be making some assumptions that may or may not apply to you. The only way for me to keep Premier happy is to set Windows to prompt for my device, THEN plug in my Firewire to my camera and turn on the camera. Windows throws up the dialog box, and I click on "EDIT AND RECORD VIDEO USING ADOBE PREMIER PRO". If I do not follow these steps, I get the same situation you described. (We also have Premier 1.5 on another Windows system and it does the same thing. Actually on that system you must have Premier shut down and plug in your firewire, then click on the EDIT AND.....box and let it open Premier automatically).

Strange, but hope that helps. Let us know how things turn out.

Best,

Kevin Fox
AATR Video
Kevin Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 06:03 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 187
Kevin, thank you for responding.
Unfortunately it did not help me solve the problem.

I do hope it will help others who like me can not understand why if their camera/vcr are properly recognised by windows, and other software (Cineform HDlink, WinDV), are not recognised by Premiere (I did try version 2 and 3).

Thanks again,

Johnnie
Johnnie Behiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 12:58 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2
Premiere Pro CS# - Camera Device offline

I have been unable to successfully capture video let alone control the camera using Premiere Pro CS3. I have tried the Canon GL2, XL2 and the XHA1. The first two worked wonderfull with the Premiere Elements 2.0. My computer recognizes the cameras but the CS3 does not. I spoke with Adobe, Canon and Dell to no avail. I downloaded a trial of Sony Vegas and it works fine.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

James Lamprecht
James Lamprecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 03:13 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: York, England
Posts: 502
You are not using a trial version of Premiere by any chance, are you? This version has the HD video handling disabled.
Alan Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2009, 09:23 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 167
Removed my post... Wrong click!
__________________
Canon XH-A1, Rode NTG-2
DIGITAL NOIR PRODUCTIONS

Last edited by Scott Nelson; June 22nd, 2009 at 09:24 PM. Reason: Wrong spot
Scott Nelson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network