AMD Turion 64 X2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2008, 04:17 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 254
AMD Turion 64 X2

Hey Guys,

I just bought a laptop with the AMD Turion 64 X2 processor. I checked on the AMD site and it is said to support SSE/SSE2/SSE3
Here's the URL:,00.html

Anyway, I also took the liberty to check on the Athlon processors which are boldly stated to not support SSE2 on the FAQ of the PPCS3 site, when in fact, the AMD Athlon site says it does.


My question is why did Adobe post that AMD Athlon processors do not support SSE2?

And more importantly, has anyone, or does anyone use AMD TURION 64 X2 on their workstations and have they ever encountered any problems?

I need to know ASAP. I only have 13 days left to return my laptop if I will have any issues.

Thanks for the help!

-Roger Rosales
Roger Rosales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2008, 08:36 AM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
You need to contact AMD sales support to get the real answer to your question. Technology constantly changes and the information in the Adobe document may have been accurate when written but the AMD functionality might be different now.

Go to the source and get the right answer.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:24 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 93
I am running the same processor on my computer and fell upon the same revelation that CS3 cannot run on the AMD processor. --- But this was after I had already installed and had begun using CS3. So after a little bit of looking around, I believe that Adobe was talking about a specific processor in AMD's line that isn't the Athlon X2.

here's a quote from adobe's website:

System Requirements: Intel® Pentium® 4 (1.4GHz processor for DV; 3.4GHz processor for HDV), Intel Centrino®, Intel Xeon® (dual 2.8GHz processors for HD), or Intel Core™ Duo (or compatible) processor; SSE2-enabled processor required for AMD systems

I think you should be good...
Ryan Postel is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network