Video Preview (Forgive me) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 23rd, 2008, 06:28 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hurricane, UT
Posts: 186
Video Preview (Forgive me)

I'm sure this has been asked at some point, but I really can't find it when I search. Everything I read regarding PPCS3 seems to indicate that you can't watch a preview of the HDV footage you are capturing (on your monitor) IF you are using a MAC. This would seem to mean that you CAN preview your footage if you are using windows. If this is the case, however, I'm completely at a loss as to how it is accomplished. Anyone care to weigh in please? Thanks a ton.
__________________
Get rid of the "Aspiring" in "Aspiring Filmmaker." Shoot it; you're a filmmaker. After that you're just negotiating your budget. (James Cameron paraphrased)
Alex Chamberlain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 07:43 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
No, you cannot preview or split-scene even on Windows. I cannot believe Adobe can get away with this in 2008.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 07:47 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Auburn Hills, USA
Posts: 217
I dont believe with the software alone you can accomplish either. I know with my matrox card you get both and more. But to answer your question, I don't think you can with the app by itself...

D
Damon Gaskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 08:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
The PC version does not allow you to preview either. They simple ask you use your camera. I think they did it to help with performance and allow even slower machines to capture HDV.
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 01:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
And I think they did it because they are just lazy. They should at least give us an option. No one's editing HDV on computers so slow they cannot preview during capturing.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 09:16 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
I had serrious issues watching the preview on my Macbook with only 1GB of RAM using Final Cut Express. Editing was fine but I needed a fresh boot to capture for more than 3 minutes, Otherwise the footage got way behind and it eventualy had to stop capturing to finish processing everything. An extra stick of RAM fixed that though. We will see what Adobe comes up with in the next patch/version. I wouldn't expect that type of option until another version. Be sure to suggest it to them on their website.
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 04:42 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Yes, I hang around their bugs/suggestion page all the time :o)
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network