Capturing into Premiere CS3 on PC - lack of HDV Scene detect options driving me mad!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2008, 08:23 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Capturing into Premiere CS3 on PC - lack of HDV Scene detect options driving me mad!!

Hi,

I have a JVC GY HD111 and am using Premiere CS3 on a PC.

I am really struggling to get a good solution for capturing. As we all know Scene detect does not work when capturing HDV on Premiere. I do not have the latest version of Cineform (or the budget) , also the trials I have run produce massive files and makes my timeline unusable speedwise. HDVsplit using scene detect does not work with the JVC.

It seems the only options I have are:

- Capture the whole tape and then create sub clips (made more annoying as the trim command in the project manager no longer works properly) - this means I waste disk space for the unused parts of my capture.

- Capture each scene manually - time consuming and faffy

- I have tried importing the clips into After Effects, using a third party script to detect scene breaks - it does work but is time consuming and then leaves the problem of manually exporting each layer as a different file and the choice of codec to use...

- Find some mpeg splitting software that is not going to cause problems with GOP's etc

It seems to me that this whole capture problem is a massive issue that must be driving people crazy! I choose to shoot my 5 tapes for this project in HDV as everybody seems to going on about the need for HDV versions for later and the improved quality when down converting to SD etc etc. I really wish I had shot in SD now and then I could just do a normal 'tape' capture using scene detect.

Have I just done HDV for HDV's sake?

Anyway rant over - what I would love to know is how is everybody getting round this lack of scene detect in Premiere?

Alex
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 08:52 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
HDVSplit has a second function, splitting already captured video into scenes.

Have you tried that?
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 09:06 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ervin Farkas View Post
HDVSplit has a second function, splitting already captured video into scenes.

Have you tried that?
Hi Ervin,

Good idea - I have just downloaded it and tested it. However it just created a new file exactly the same. If I remember it is something to do with the way the JVC cameras record information in the file (I think it is different to other cameras).

Thanks anyway.

Alex
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 04:30 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Yes, JVC seems to have some proprietary way of coding the MPEG stream - Final Cut has HUGE problems with JVC scene detection as well. I am lucky enough to have Matrox RTX2 (which gives other headaches, trust me :). Try HDVSplit or capturing with other app, like Vegas.

Or go and buy Cineform, that will give you great workflow options, added quality and scene detection as well.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 05:17 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Guy, I don't man to sound harsh here but in the world of film there is no freakin' scene detection, that's why we slate every shot. Capturing each scene is part of the job. That's why both Premiere and FCP have extensive logging utilities.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 08:27 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Paolo... I don't mean to sound flip but the realm of digital video offers lots of tools and functions. I want to use every single stinkin' one that helps me do my work better and more efficiently. Scene detection is one of those tools that I deem invaluable. I need it, and I expect others do too.

The fact that PP omitted it from their feature set for HDV is, well, silly. HDV Split fills that void.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 02:53 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Tripp, I always shot digital, I think in digital, I worked as a regular bit-pusher, aka programmer, for 28 years, I'm there with you regarding digital technology and the "tricks" that we can use. It's just that sometimes it's just faster to do the job by hand than spending so much time in searching a tool to automate the operation. Just MHO.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 03:36 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp Woelfel View Post
The fact that PP omitted it from their feature set for HDV is, well, silly. HDV Split fills that void.
HDV SPlit is a superb tool - shame it doesn't work on the JVC cameras with the scene detect option. I think someone could be onto a good thing if this could work somehow.
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 03:43 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo Ciccone View Post
Guy, I don't man to sound harsh here but in the world of film there is no freakin' scene detection, that's why we slate every shot. Capturing each scene is part of the job. That's why both Premiere and FCP have extensive logging utilities.
Thanks Paolo,

I must admit that I tend not to keep shot records (I know this is very unpro). Instead I tend to capture each tape in full, use scene detect to split the files and then review on screen/monitor and delete and comment as necessary. Saves paper, time and confusion reading my own writing...

Looks like I might need to revise my methods.
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 05:20 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
MPEG Streamclip video converter looks to be a good solution

I have just downloaded the MPEG Streamclip video converter from http://www.squared5.com/svideo/mpeg-streamclip-win.html

From what I can see it is ideal. Hopefully this means I can just capture a tape, run it through MPEG Streamclip and use the 'edit list' feature in the 'List' menu to automatically select the scene and set in and out points. Still trying to workout how to save it back in the original file format (although the "convert to MPEG with MP2 Audio" seems to import into Premiere CS3 fine without it wanting to render on the timeline).

Have I just found the answer? Seems pretty good to me!
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 10:04 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Alex, how is this different from logging or setting subclips? MPSC doesn't do auto detection AFAIK.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 10:24 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo Ciccone View Post
Alex, how is this different from logging or setting subclips? MPSC doesn't do auto detection AFAIK.
Hi Paolo,

For me it means that I can capture the tape in one go and then put my camera away. I can then review on screen and split, name and delete accordingly.

I agree it is not quite scene detect - however this discovery has made me quite happy and I feel it will be of benefit.

Have a nice weekend!
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 10:48 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sutton, Surrey, England
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiri Fiala View Post
Yes, JVC seems to have some proprietary way of coding the MPEG stream - Final Cut has HUGE problems with JVC scene detection as well. I am lucky enough to have Matrox RTX2 (which gives other headaches, trust me :). Try HDVSplit or capturing with other app, like Vegas.
I've been struggling with this same issue.

In the end I turned to Sony Vegas Pro 8. No problems with scene detection from my JVC at all.

When I was first thinking about upgrading from Vegas to PP CS4 I read somewhere on this site that both pieces of software have their own strengths and weaknesses. This is definately one in Sony's favour. I have since discovered other strengths in Vegas over PP. It's all swings and roundabouts I guess.
Kevin Ahronson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network