Premiere CS3 - the big loading wait (with progress bar...) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2008, 03:48 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Premiere CS3 - the big loading wait (with progress bar...)

Does anybody know, why when I load an HDV720P25 project on my PC (XP Pro 4GB ram, Intel Core 2 Duo T7500 @ 2.2GHz) do I have to wait so long for the damn thing to load.

On average I can wait 5-10 minutes for the main editor interface to come up. My files are on an external USB2 RAID1 drive.

Please see screenshot for an example of what I have to look at. It goes straight up to 95%ish and stays just like that...
Attached Images
 
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 03:54 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
I experience the same thing. Usually only when working on projects with lots of HD footage loaded into the project.

It must have something to do with the amount of media in the project, because when I start a new project it loads up almost instantly.
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 04:36 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Wren View Post
...My files are on an external USB2 RAID1 drive...
That is your problem. The USB2 interface is NOT fast enough (regardless of drive speed or RAID) and not recommended by 99% of users here for active project editing.
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 05:07 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 949
You may find additional useful information in this thread which contains almost the exact same question.
Daniel Browning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2008, 05:54 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
I have the exact same issue frequently, and I find it does get slower as the list of assets and the complexity of the edit grows. I have a pretty fast RAID array, internal, and it still pauses for a while at the 95% mark. But nothing like 5 minutes. More like 30 or 40 seconds with a big project.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 03:42 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Wagner View Post
That is your problem. The USB2 interface is NOT fast enough (regardless of drive speed or RAID) and not recommended by 99% of users here for active project editing.
Thanks Marco,

Do you think it is better to use the drive in Firewire (400) mode? If that won't make much difference maybe I should copy the current project onto the internal 7200rpm drive. I am on a laptop so my options are a little limited.
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 04:39 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
The only sensible solution is to use an eSATA disk.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 04:43 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harm Millaard View Post
The only sensible solution is to use an eSATA disk.
I was just (literally) looking at these. It seems I can get a PCMCIA eSATA card for about 20 and then it all depends on if I want to use a small single (current project only) drive. Or change/add to my current Buffalo RAID1 (sadly USB/FW only) storage solution.

Does anybody recommend any eSATA drives?
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 05:09 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
As a rough rule of thumb, the average transfer rate is:

eSATA: 80 MB/s
Firewire: 30 MB/s
USB: 20 MB/s or less, depending on the number of USB devices connected.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 10:02 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Just avoid USB disks for editing altogether. They use spare CPU cycles, so the more strain you put onto your CPU, the slower transfer speeds you get. You can get as low as 500 kBps which is next to useless.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 04:49 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 256
Back to the original poster's question. If drive throughput is fast, is it still normal to have to wait some time for a large project to load? I am using internal SATA drives, some RAID 5 and some stand alone. As my projects get larger it is not unusual for me to wait 2-10 minutes for some projects to load. It seems that the number of clips has more to do with the wait time than the size of the clips. A project that has 4 hours of footage in 4 one hour clips will load very fast, but a project with 4 hours of footage broken into several hundred clips, music, voice over, pictures, multiple timelines, etc may take 10 minutes.

I always thought this was normal, but after seeing the responses only dealing with drive speed made me think my wait times are unusual.

Even with fast drives, do you have to wait a while for large complicated projects to load?
Lloyd Coleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 04:54 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Unfortunately, yes. Loading a project will take far more time if you have many clips than when you have a few (but longer) clips. In your example 4 one hour clips will load significantly faster than 1500 clips from the same 4 hour source material. However, the OP has an added disadvantage of slow disks in a Raid1 configuration. So that makes it even worse.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2008, 05:06 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Wren View Post
Does anybody recommend any eSATA drives?
I use a Norco DS-500, 5-bay eSATA enclosure. It works wonderfully. It's hot-swappable, so I can pop a new drive in for each project if I so chose. It comes with a 4-port eSTATA card too.

You can get More info here.
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 04:25 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
I now have an eSata drive - it is faster but still takes a while to load.

This seems really quite annoying as it means that 'popping' into Premiere to make some adjustments really does take some planning.

Also if the software crashes or you accidentally shut it down it can really hamper your progress and stem your creative flow......
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 08:44 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
I have been working with premiere 1.5 before upgrading to cs3 and with 1.5 I never had long loading times but with cs3, especially with more complex projects it's about a minute. I just use a separate 750gig drive for my videofiles.
Noa Put is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network