Service Pack 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11th, 2008, 09:33 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
Service Pack 3

Has anybody tried Windows sp3 yet? If so...how is it working?
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2008, 10:47 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 309
Hi Todd,

I just tried it X4 (updated thru Windows Update), and had to reload my whole system each time, since I could not get the Computer to work after the SP3 update. Now I'm staying away from it, until I can figure out why it screwed up.

Harold
Harold Schreiber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 12:08 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Fine here, no problems at all yet. CS3 with matrox rtx2.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 06:00 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portsmouth UK
Posts: 33
I've heard on a couple of forums that it's messing up some AMD chip computers. As most of mine are AMD, I think I'll give it a miss.

XP SP3 Killing AMD chip PCs . . . . .
http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=159142
__________________
"Well I was working on that Orchid Preservation Society website, but I got sort of bogged down with it . . ."
John Westbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 07:48 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alexander, NC
Posts: 188
I have Opertron 285s and Matrox Axio LE ... all works fine with Service Pack 3.
__________________
--Ralph Roberts, CEO
1VIDeo / aBOOKS / Creativity, Inc.
Ralph Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2008, 04:01 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 309
Hi John,

Mine's an AMD.

Harold
Harold Schreiber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 12:31 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Working fine here, on a X2 4400.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 01:57 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
Maybe once i finish up this next project and nuke the drives again then I'll go with SP3.

I suppose I could always dust off that copy of vista 64 I have in the closet. I wonder how CS3 does in Vista SP1.
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 04:16 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
I recently upgraded my xp pro system (quadcore) to sp3, I read a lot about sp3 speeding up your system a bit and even render times. I use Adobe premiere cs3 en encore cs3 and after installing SP3 I didn't notice any change whatsoever in speed. Only right after I installed it I got these annoying pop ups telling me I didn't have a firewall and virusscanner active which luckily were easy to turn off.
Beside that my system works stable after the install but if I had know it wouldn't make a difference I wouldn't have installed it.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2008, 05:03 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 19
Installed it and now the computer won't recognize my HVR-A1U through firewire. Have no idea what to do now. Can't find any references to this problem associated with this service pack.
J. D. McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2008, 01:40 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
I

have it running smoothly on 4 desktops and two laptops. All intel of course.
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 06:25 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 95
There's nothing in SP3 that is of any real benefit and it certainly won't speed anything up, it's just odds and sods that Microsoft are bolting on at the end of XP's shelf life, a bit of housekeeping if you like. MS didn't even make a big deal about SP3, in fact they almost actively supressed its publicity since they really want shot of XP now since everyone must want and love Vista ;)
If it ain't broke...etc.
Damian Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 09:04 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian Clarke View Post
If it ain't broke...etc.
Couldn't agree more, but all I read on the internet the past monts was that xp3 would speed up things, I even read comments here (http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...highlight=sp3) about users who installed the RC version and one even spoke about 40-50% faster rendering times, but then it was in combination with cineform so maybe cineform has some magic applied in their software?

For me this was the only reason to try it out, my setup then worked just fine but if you know it will improve with just a update? Anyhow, since it doesn't I can only hope sp3 won't sc**w up the stability of my machine, time will tell.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 01:31 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. D. McDonald View Post
Installed it and now the computer won't recognize my HVR-A1U through firewire. Have no idea what to do now. Can't find any references to this problem associated with this service pack.
A couple of restarts finally solved this...I think.
J. D. McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 02:20 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 59
do what our studio does, wait at least a year to install, thats what we did with Vista and thats what we are planning to do with SP3, i would stay away, like on my personal turnkey laptop i installed Vista SP1 and crashed the next day :\
Cameron Naghibi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network