Premiere Pro CS3: XP or Vista? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27th, 2008, 03:39 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 224
Premiere Pro CS3: XP or Vista?

I am planning on putting together a Premiere Pro CS3 system, but was wondering if it should be XP based or Vista based?

Is anyone running PPCS3 on a Vista based system? Are there any advantages or disadvantages to it?

I'm not a Vista fan myself, but if it's worth it, I'll go with it.
Bryan Gilchrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 07:00 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 315
I use Premiere Pro CS3 on 3 systems: Windows XP at work, Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit, and Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit, the latter 2 at home.

I've experienced more crashes and lost work on the XP system than either of the Vista systems. I'm not sure why things turned out that way, but they have. Also, I've noticed that my 64-bit Vista Ultimate system seems to behave slightly better than the 32-bit Home Premium system.

I think Vista has been out long enough for many of the original troubles with drivers, hardware, and software, have become less of an issue. Of course, if you're more comfortable with XP, you might want to hurry up and snatch a copy while you can, because I thought it was being pulled from store shelves by the end of May or June of this year.

At any rate, I think Vista is still catching a bad wrap, but it definitely a lot better now than it was a year ago. As I've said, I've been working 100% Vista at home since October of 2007, and I haven't had a single problem. Hope this helps!
Shawn McCalip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 10:05 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 285
I'm making the jump to Vista 64 bit very soon with the CS3 suite. I'll try to remember to update this thread with my experiences.
Wade Spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 12:00 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 142
I use CS3 with Vista 64 and it's a very solid experience. I can't wait until they actually make a 64 Bit Premiere though.

I've also been using it with the Blackmagic Intensity Pro card, works just fine.
John McGinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 05:29 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
Using CS3 with Vista x64 and I'm having no issues. I would recommend it.
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 05:43 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
It`s really easy: do you buy a whole new PC? Go Vista. If you have anything older than 2 years, stick with XP.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 06:15 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 34
As I understand it, Vista's "bad rap" comes from:

a) Users attempting to use old(er) software or hardware on a new operating system.

b) Software companies that have not yet updated their software to work with the new(er) operating system.

c) Clever, suggestive marketing by Apple Computers. (Remember that frustrated man on the commercials is an actor paid by Apple; he is not REALLY a PC). ;)

I admit, I kicked against the pricks and fought the Vista upgrade until just recently. After having a good long talk with my long-time trusted and knowledgeable white box computer vendor (Josh Prince at Prime Systems in Kaysville, Utah) The way he explains it, XP users complained about security and stability. So Microsoft locked down on security and created a more rock solid operating system by dis-allowing older hardware/software to run. Now people complain that they can't run Quickbooks 2002. Time to upgrade.

Also, if you're concerned about the "Aero" graphics slowing your system down, simply turn them off.

For video editing I would recommend Vista 64-bit (checking with all of your important software manufacturers to ensure that they are up-to-date with Vista).
__________________
Clark Cooper
Abbey HD Rentals
Clark Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 08:10 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 142
Well I had a nightmare getting Vista 64 installed, but since I got it installed, it's working great. I still have XP Pro 32 bit dual booting too.

First I had to reset my motherboard for whatever reason it wouldn't boot from DVD, cleared CMOS and that fixed that.

Then I kept getting BSOD during install, and finally nailed it down to having too much RAM (yes that is correct), and I had to remove 6 Gigs and left 2 gigs to install, then once it was installed, download a fix that recognized the other 6 gigs, since then it's been pretty smooth.

The only major hurdles left are Contour Shuttle doesn't have 64 bit drivers for their edit wheel and M-Audio doesn't have Vista 64 drivers for their sound cards.

I haven't had any crashes in Premiere that I can remember since installing it though.

64 bit Maya is a joy compared to 32 bit.
John McGinley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network