How do I move tracks like layers? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2008, 10:33 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 20
How do I move tracks like layers?

How do I move a track up or down in my timeline?

and

How do I insert a new track in between existing tracks?


Thanks so much
Elijah Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 01:54 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Hi, you can`t. But you can select all clips on a track by A shortcut, and that selects all clips right from your cursor. Then move it to a track of your choice.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 03:19 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 20
Is this a shortcut I have to make myself? This seems odd that premiere doesn't make this easy to do. So I cannot insert a new track in the middle of other tracks either? argh

Thanks for your reply
Elijah Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 04:37 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 51
If your talking video tracks, it's pretty easy.
Say you have 2 video tracks, labeled from bottom to top 1 and 2. Just create a third video track (if you don't know how to do this, just highlight the Timeline and choose Sequence > Add tracks, then add video/audio tracks as needed).

Then, if you want to insert a video track between aforementioned tracks 1 and 2, then highlight everything in track 2, and drag it above to the newly made track 3. Then insert whatever new video segments you want in between the two.

To select all the video of one track, use the Track Select tool. It's a cursor with a marquee box around it, in your tools panel.
Andrew Hoag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2008, 08:00 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 20
Thanks for answering.

Thats how I have been doing it although the track select tool is new to me. I wonder why adobe makes it so difficult. Seems like there are a few things about Adobe Premiere Pro that are just plain clumsy, like this.

Thanks again. I thought i was doing it the hard way and there was a much faster way!
Elijah Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 02:46 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elijah Lynn View Post
Thanks for answering.

Thats how I have been doing it although the track select tool is new to me. I wonder why adobe makes it so difficult. Seems like there are a few things about Adobe Premiere Pro that are just plain clumsy, like this.
Well, PPro is not necessarily a composing software like After Effects :)
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network