Turning a singe mono channel into stereo on Premiere CS3? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2008, 01:42 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 7
Turning a single mono channel into stereo on Premiere CS3?

I sincerely apologize if this topic was already covered on the forum, but I couldn't find an answer searching the forum itself. I assume this is a regular occurrence with newbies.

Well this is the problem, I used my Canon HX A1's XLR output but recored the whole scene on only one channel. Is there a way I can turn it into stereo, or am I doomed to film the whole thing again?

Last edited by Alas Eastanwick; June 18th, 2008 at 04:04 PM. Reason: spelling error
Alas Eastanwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 04:29 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suriname
Posts: 14
newbies never search the manuals

Hi there,
This can happen to anyone hopefully you don't have a deadline like I did ST*PID.
And I quote the manual :
" Use a mono clip as stereo
You may sometimes find it useful to use a mono audio clip as a stereo clip. Using the Source Channel Mappings feature, you can apply a mono clip to a pair of left and right stereo channels.

In the Project panel, select a mono clip.
Choose Clip > Audio Options > Source Channel Mappings.
In the Source Channel Mappings dialog box, select Mono As Stereo.

Important: You can apply the Source Channel Mappings command to a mono clip only in the Project panel, before the clip appears in the Timeline panel. You canít convert a clip instance to stereo when itís used in a mono audio track "
end quote.

Used to be treat as stereo in CS2 , and insert your clip back on the time line.
F1 is your friend.
Everts Alredjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 04:38 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suriname
Posts: 14
OK much simpler solution would be to apply audio filter /stereo/
fill left or right, depending
on which channel you need to duplicate.
Everts Alredjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 07:29 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 7
worked like a charm

You wouldn't believe me if i said it but I am in a deadline so your solution helped me in the nick of time. Thank you so much!
Alas Eastanwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 08:26 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suriname
Posts: 14
Deadlines I had a ton them

Deadlines .Problems always come up when were in a hurry. Thats why Im greatfull for Communties like these.

Goodluck Alan
Everts Alredjo is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network