SD 25f footage to edit with PP2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 19th, 2008, 01:14 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
SD 25f footage to edit with PP2

I have SD footage recorded in frame mode (25f) with my A1.

I have pp2.

Should I set up a regular SD Widescreen project to edit this?

Any pitfalls I need to be aware of?

Thanks,
Ger.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 04:52 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
No. When creating a new project, click a "Custom settings" tab and select "progressive" under "Fields". Otherwise you will run into interlace problems.

Feel free to create a preset for this settings so you won`t forget to set progressive fields on new projects (I know I do).
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 05:24 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
Thankyou Jiri,
I just love this frame mode look.
I shot 50i for quite a while, playing it safe.

Im just wondering, and you seem like the man to ask,
are there any slowmo speeds that work reasonably well with this footage?
50% perhaps?
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 05:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
I don`t know... I use JVC ProHD camcorder which gives me real 25p (or 24p). But 50 per cent should look reasonably well. If you have After Effects, try to slow down your footage using Pixel Motion estimation method of frame blending.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 06:56 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
I just realised Ive already capture a lot of the footage into an SD project with fields set to lower.
Do I need to re-capture it or would that matter?
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 12:51 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
I think that it only concerns renders and previews so you don`t need to recapture... But am not sure about this.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 08:17 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
Thanks again I'll figure it out.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 08:30 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
You`re welcome! And please post your findings.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network