Dolby Digital and CS4 ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2008, 04:11 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis Minnesota
Posts: 347
Dolby Digital and CS4 ?

I have PPro 1.5. You need to purchase the "optional" Surrcode encoder if you wish to use DD audio in a project. Question: Does PPro CS3 come with Dolby digital encoding, or do you still need to purchase an additional expensive encoder. I also use Vegas 8 pro, and it comes with the DD encoder. I am contemplating purchasing CS3, but if I still have to add big $$$ for the DD encoder, I will probably pass.
On a different note, When is Adobe scheduled to release a new version - CS 4 ?
Thanks - PK
Paul Kepen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 06:59 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
CS3 has the same 'pay extra to activate' Surcode plugin.

Am I correct in recalling that Vegas can do full 5.1 multichannel DD?

I have the vague impression from somewhere (??) that CS4 is due early-mid '09, but I could be way off on that.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2008, 09:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis Minnesota
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Hickling View Post
CS3 has the same 'pay extra to activate' Surcode plugin.

Am I correct in recalling that Vegas can do full 5.1 multichannel DD?

I have the vague impression from somewhere (??) that CS4 is due early-mid '09, but I could be way off on that.
Thanks for the info Graham.
In early 2006 I purchase the PPro 1.5 suite (AE, Encore, etc.) and Vegas 6 w DVD Architect. From Vegas 6 through the current Vegas 8 (if you have the full Vegas w DVD architect, anyways), full DD 5.1 capabilities have been included without purchasing any extra encoders. (I don't know if the home version of Vegas have it or not). You need to install DVD architect (Equivalent to Encore in Adobe) for the DD encoder to work. As I recall Adobe wants something like $200 for the surcode encoder. Its kind of hard to justify that after paying $1000 to upgrade from older version of PPro. The Vegas upgrade path is $100 to $150 usually (during special promo).
Paul Kepen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network