Timline Playback problem - Silent Gaps for a second, then returns? Audio Drops out? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 24th, 2008, 08:56 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Timline Playback problem - Silent Gaps for a second, then returns? Audio Drops out?

When playing the timeline in CS3 - The sound from one track will stop playing then return after a few seconds.
These playback gaps are an annoying problem that happens only after editing for about 30 minutes. The gaps also seem to happen on only one of my audio tracks at a time. So if i have 3 audio tracks, i will loose one track while still hearing the other two playing... This problem is random and can happen at any moment.

The only solution i have found is to restart and re-open premiere and start over.

Could this be my Audio hardware?
I have a dual boot of WinXP and Vista 64bit and this problem happens on both partitions.

Specs:
Intel Q6600
MB: Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
8GB RAM ( in vista 64 only)
Nvida Gforce 8800GT
4 drive RAID array
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 01:49 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
Tyson - You're not alone. This appears to be a fairly common problem, judging from posts here and on the Adobe forums. What format are you using? It seems confined to HDV and/or Cineform projects, not with DV. It also appears to be more common with, but not restricted to multi-camera timelines.

I have the same problem as you with intermittent dropouts, as well as another sound problem specific to Cineform projects, but as yet have found no solution. Looking at the other posts, it appears that one thing everyone has in common is a quadcore processor.

I'm not an expert, but from others' experiences, your audio hardware and drivers likely aren't the problem, but something inside Premiere is.
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 02:13 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Ahh Nuts. Thanks man.

I am using HDV, but not Cineform, and YES, i have a quad-core processor.

So then I guess we are all waiting for a patch update from Adobe....
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 01:56 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
I hate adding a "me too," post... but... Me too!

It only seems to happen to me on the longer projects (greater than 30 minutes on the HDV timeline) and after I've been editing for a while. I'm guessing it's a memory leak that's causing the problems. I'm also editing on a quad-core system.
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Me too. Onboard or external soundcard, DV or HDV or Matrox RTX2, no difference. Just another Premiere annoyance.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2008, 07:35 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: canterbury
Posts: 411
allow me to add a 'me too' as well. in the hope someone from adobe scans these. Im quad core, prospect and a sizable timeline too.

cheers
paul
Paul Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2008, 10:20 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Posts: 201
This will happen on my system too. I have tracked the issue down to the firewire buss. If you have a crappy firewire card, cable, and not enough power in your system (power supply) drop outs will happen. I have seen this happen on both mac and PC's. Premiere is not the only program, quicktime, windows media player, VLC, and other audio editing programs have drop out issues.
__________________
Mitchell J. Skurnik
http://www.mjcsstudios.com/ - EX1, 4x hoodman 16GB, Libec Tripod, Sony LAV
Mitchell Skurnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2008, 11:41 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Hi Mitchell,

I don't think this is the problem, at least on my system. I'm only using firewire for the initial capture from the camera (Canon XH-A1, using HDVSplit, not PPro). The rest of my workflow involves using external drives connected by eSATA.
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2008, 09:48 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
I experienced small gaps of missing audio on a 15 min timeline. At first, the audio was fine. I threw a video effect on another clip and rendered it. That was when I experienced the audio problems. Closing CS3 and re-opening it cured the problem. Quad core, 2 gig of ram, internal HD, operating on Vista.
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2008, 06:31 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
BTW the latest Avid MC 3 does this too... :) All NLEs have quirks and bugs.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 04:55 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Add me to the list, I get the same problem. Loss of audio for a few seconds. The problem is constant when using the trim monitor making editing really difficult for timing the cut with dialogue.

I'm using a Cineform intermediate at high quality and I have a Core 2 Quad processor.

Grr! I wish I'd just stuck with Avid Xpress DV and SD while I had that working!

The grass isn't always greener :(

Anyone found a fix yet?
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com

Last edited by Stuart Graham; December 8th, 2008 at 06:22 PM.
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network