Transfering from FCE to PPro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 2nd, 2008, 09:57 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14
Transfering from FCE to PPro

My son has recently captured several tapes into FCE (on a Mac). About 50% of these tapes are in HDV from a Sony HDR-HC7 camera. The rest are in regular DV format from a different camera. He needs to transfer these files to a Windows computer for editing in Premier Pro (long story). I have explored transfer options, both here and on the web and am running into problems.

1) The Adobe Help Center states that '.MOV' files can be imported into PPro. But, when I try to do an import into a copy of PPro CS3, .MOV files aren't listed and aren't recognized.

2) I used QuickTime on the Mac to create a '.avi' file. This could be read by PPro but the imported clip was unusable - very jerky motion.

I would be very appreciative of any advice on how to moves clips from FCE to PPro.
Nick Birkett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2008, 11:28 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Birkett View Post
1) The Adobe Help Center states that '.MOV' files can be imported into PPro. But, when I try to do an import into a copy of PPro CS3, .MOV files aren't listed and aren't recognized.

2) I used QuickTime on the Mac to create a '.avi' file. This could be read by PPro but the imported clip was unusable - very jerky motion.
1. You probably don't have the QT codec installed on the PC.
2. What setting have you used? FC has a ton of settings for AVI export; use DV/DVCPRO and you should be fine. I transcoded some DVCPRO-HD/QT video to DV-AVI (standard def) using FC and it came out superb.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2008, 01:46 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 14
I think you are right. I hadn't realized that .MOV files had different internal codes :( Beginner's mistakes. I'll explore the .avi settings as you suggest. Thanks.
Nick Birkett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network