if you could purchase any processor... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 12th, 2008, 08:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
if you could purchase any processor...

What would that processor be...for premiere pro CS3? And Why?

Looking to beef up the system.

Thanks
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 03:56 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
you take the latest core2 duo a 3 Ghz and overclok it a 3.6.
make sure you take the fastest DDR2 you can (1200Mhz).
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 08:29 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
thanks for the response!

I fear overclocking...

my mother board is a badge matrix tank desktop and I can't figure out for the life of me if it can handle all that power. I own a dell, and they aren't telling me much about upgrading my CPU. do you know how to find out if an overclocked cpu with all that power would destroy my computer?

understand if this is tough to answer.

thanks a bunch.

Jay
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 10:53 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
just found out that the Q6700 is a good as it gets in the quads, and E6700 (which I already have) is as good as it gets for the core 2 dual.

worth going to the Q...from the E... where premiere pro cs3 is concerned???
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 09:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 378
I'm pretty happy with my Q6700...especially coming from an overclocked amd 2500+ mobile
Eric Stemen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 08:23 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
Thanks for the response.

by the way, I hope I wasn't too confusing in my previous post, the q6700 is as good as it gets as far as my computer is concerned.

how powerful is the q6700 when it comes to rendering?
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2008, 01:23 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
I haven't heard anybody mention the Dunnington X7460 Xeon with 6 cores, 9 MB L2 cache, 16 MB L3 cache and a TDP of 130W at 2.66 GHz. Intel claims performance gains of around 50% over the old 7300 series because of the Meron architecture instead of the old Penryn architecture.

Last edited by Harm Millaard; September 15th, 2008 at 01:56 PM.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2008, 12:16 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 194
Hands down, Q6600 2.4GHz (Quad Core) overclocked to 3.0.
You can find that processor for around $200, that's a great deal
Overclocking is fine, my system runs like greased lighting.
Renders take 1/8 the time my old Dell 650 workstation 3.2Ghz (single core) used to take.
__________________
www.scott-gold.com
Scott Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2008, 12:20 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 194
Change that, it's now selling for $189.99 on NEWEGG.COM!
__________________
www.scott-gold.com
Scott Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network