Crashing on Export at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 12th, 2008, 07:23 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 161
Crashing on Export

Matrox RTX.2 / Premiere Pro2 has suddenly decided to crash when trying to export an HDV or DV project to MPEG from the Timeline. This happens with both the Matrox and the Adobe encoders. During a 60 mins project it will freeze at almost any point - at the beginning, the middle or towards the end and the PC has to be restarted. This has got rapidly worse and it has now crashed 5 times in succession.

When just editing and not exporting to MPEG Premiere is fine.

I have done a clean-up and defrag and installed the latest Graphics software - I thought the problem lay there - but no joy.

Event Viewer simply says Error 'Application Hang' (101) Event 1002 whatever that means with entreaties to Inform Security Centre and ATI Smart.

BTW this PC is not on the net.

Can anyone help, please ?
__________________
Premiere CS5, EX1, 2xFX1,SonyA1,GlideTrack.
Mike Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2008, 07:43 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
I can only speak to the Premier side since I don't use Matrox. I've had this problem and it ended up being an audio codec issue. My workaround was to render the audio out of the timeline and replace the existing audio tracks with the rendered wav file. Don't know why it works, but it does.

The fix is to uninstall all unnecessary audio apps, then uninstall/reinstall Premier, which I haven't done yet because the workaround has been consistently solving my problem for the last four months.

You should note that it only takes one wobbly codec to mess things up. My system only had CS3, Sonic Fire Pro, Sound Forge and an audio rip/convert tool dedicated audio applications and is also not networked. There might also be other applications that are not specifically audio that use codecs. Media players may also install codecs atop the ones Premier needs.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2008, 04:20 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 161
Thanks Tripp, that will be yet another workaround to add to my growing list. I handled the immediate problem as far as this project is concerned by rendering out the timeline in 3 chunks - fortunately I had a couple of dissolves along the way which I could use for cut points. I have just re-rendered a previous project to MPEG and it went without a hitch - baffling !!
__________________
Premiere CS5, EX1, 2xFX1,SonyA1,GlideTrack.
Mike Wade is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network