Solution for APE 3.0's large h.264 files! Quicktime Pro Needed! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 16th, 2008, 11:18 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Holmdel, NJ
Posts: 81
Solution for APE 3.0's large h.264 files! Quicktime Pro Needed!

So, I've been editing footage from my XHA1 on Adobe Premiere Elements 3.0.
Here's the problem.
A 1 min 30 sec clip, compressed to h.264, comes out to 450+ mbs!!!
Now, I don't know if that's normal, but it's very high for me.

The solution:

Step 1:
Open the 720p or 1080i video with Quicktime Pro
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression1.jpg

Step 2:
File>Export
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression2.jpg

Step 3:
Change export setting to Movie to QuickTime Movie
and Click Options
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression3.jpg

Step 4:
Click Video settings
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression4.jpg

Step 5:
Set the Compression Type to H.264
Set you Quality to Medium or High
Set "Optimized for:" to "Download"
Click OK
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression5.jpg

Step 6:
Go to Sound Settings
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression6.jpg

Step 7:
Format to AAC
Click OK
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression7.jpg

Step 8:
Press Ok and start the export
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression8.jpg

Comparison:

Size
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression9.jpg

Quality
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...pression10.jpg

Hope this helps!
__________________
Check out my blog at KevinSawicki.com
Kevin Sawicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2008, 11:43 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 107
All of these settings are available in adobe media encoder.....
Jon Sands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2008, 07:40 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
In this step: http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l1...mpression5.jpg

You leave the data rate set to automatic. I'm not high on that idea since I don't know what any transcoder will do with that. You're better off specifying both the data rate and whether you want constant or variable bit rate.

You might be able to tweak other settings to get the size where you want it, but bit rate is always the key parameter.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network