Artifacts problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 20th, 2008, 08:38 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
Artifacts problem

Every time I import a file using my Matrox RT.X2 card using the MPEG iFrame I get these results

Artifacts screen shot

Up to now I have managed to get away with this by importing files as AVI. Now I have just invested in a Sony EX3 which only produces MPEG4 files and I get these artifacts several times each minute. They appear as a one frame flash and are at random times.

Can anyone shed some light on this.

Adobe Premierre Pro CS3, RTX2 card, 4 gb RAM, Windows XP
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2008, 10:53 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Have you considered that this might be a fringe benefit of using the RT-X2?
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2008, 06:39 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
I was hoping for a better solution than this.
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 12:16 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Posts: 177
I've used lots of EX footage in Premiere CS3 and I have no troubles just dumping the footage into folders and editing from there.

Are you using a different process to import the footage with the RT.X2 card?
Devin Termini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 03:14 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
No, I am using the same technique as you, although I have tried several other methods too. I seems that the artifacts start to appear after you apply two or more effects, Matrox or Premierre. I can get away with just colour correction but if I apply a Flicker removal (Premierre OPtion) then I get the atrifacts. I am going to remove the Sound Blaster Audigy card today, I have a gut feeling that this may be causing a conflict. I will then try it in another slot.

Thanks for your response
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 05:20 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
This may be the wrong place for this question, but as it is happening with my EX3 footage I thought someone may have an answer.

Every time I import a file into Premiere CS3, using a Matrox RTX2 card and apply a couple of effects I get these results

Photoshop CS3

I have managed to get away with this by importing files as an AVI. Now I have just invested in a Sony EX3 which only produces MPEG4 files and I get these artefacts several times each minute. They appear as a one frame flash and are at random times.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

I have included a short bit of test footage here

Matrox Artifacts

It is a 25mb QT movie file, shot on the Sony EX3, dropped into the timeline a Matrox colour correction and Premierre Flicker removal has been applied. The artefacts also appear when two or more Matrox effects are applied. If I just use one effect, i.e. colour correction then the footage is perfect.

System Asus board with 4 gb RAM, Nvidia 7950GT graphics card with 512mb ram, Sound Blaster Audigy card, and several hard drives (SATA). Adobe Premiere Pro CS3, RTX2 card. All items are Matrox approved etc. Windows XP SP 3
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 10:25 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
Did you try updating your grachics drivers?
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 10:27 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
That was my first step, all the latest updates are in place.
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 10:46 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Does this happen in Adobe projects too, or only in Matrox Projects? I have RTX2 too, it makes all sorts of hell, but nothing like this. My bet would be bad graphic driver, but since you updated that too, I`m not so sure.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 10:57 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
It doesn't happen in EXCAM EX projects or Adobe projects, but then I also lose the ability to use the JVC studio monitor preview
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 11:11 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
In that case either contact Matrox to supply functional drivers,
or forfeit the Matrox altogether and go for stability.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 12:03 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harm Millaard View Post
or forfeit the Matrox altogether and go for stability.
This seems like the only option that may work so far, but as the card cost me the best part of £1000, I think I may just hold out hope that a solution can be found.

Thanks
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2008, 04:51 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
The EX1 and EX3 both shoot MPEG2, and just have an MPEG4 wrapper. Combining that info with the fact that MPEG2 I-Frame HD was giving you issues, leads me to suspect the possibility that something is wrong with MPEP2 decoder on your system. Matrox replaces many of those system services with their own when you install the RT-X2, so a reinstall of that software should refresh all of the files required for MPEG2 playback. I believe Matrox is set to release a new version of the RT-X2 software in the next day or two, but I can't necessarily advocate using it, over the current 3.6 version unless you really need CS4 or 64bit support. A reinstall of the current version should be sufficient, if that is going to fix the problem. If that doesn't work, I have no further ideas, besides further testing in the native Adobe EX mode.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2008, 01:51 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chislehurst, London
Posts: 1,724
Thank you Mike,

A complete reinstall was/is on the cards for today. I also wondered if it was a conflict between my Sound Blaster Audigy card and the Matrox. Problems, problems - all I want to do is just use the camera to produce some DVDs, I can do without all this nonsense.

Have a great Christmas and a very Happy New Year.
__________________
Eyes are a deaf manís ears. Ears are a blind manís eyes
Vincent Oliver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network