30p on a 24p Timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 24th, 2008, 08:09 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
30p on a 24p Timeline

I shot an event in HD with three Canon cameras. Two of them were set to 24p but the HV10 doesn't support it so, being a pikey, I set it to 30p figuring it was close. I figured I'd have to do the pulldown in Premier Pro (CS3) but didn't know it would cause problems. The 30p footage in the final output looks like it's dumping the last six frames every second. Clearly I did a couple of things wrong.

First in the shooting, from the research I've done I'd be better off shooting 60i. Do I have this right?

Second, what's the best way to do the pulldown for both 30p and 60i?

Any input would be appreciated.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2008, 05:40 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 61
If you're working with a 24p timeline, and you had to choose between 60i and 30p, the best thing to do is shoot 60i. There is no good way to get 30p into 24p. 60i to 24p is better, or work with a 30p timeline for the footage. Combining the 30p and 24p in one timeline will result in bad results.

=(

Unfortunately, I dont think there's much you can do now. But for the future, if you're going to be editing with a 24p timeline, you should shoot either 24p (optimal.. obviously) or if you have to, 60i (last choice). 30p should not even be considered for a 24p timeline.
__________________
Triple E Productions - Award Winning Films/Services
www.PaulDV.com
Paul Del Vecchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2008, 06:07 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Paul... Thanks. I rather thought that I might have painted myself into a corner shooting at 30p. If my thinking has any validity, 60i is a better choice because the pulldown will use fields to smooth the motion.

Fortunately the 30p footage is very B roll and the notchy playback is only noticeable for a few seconds in a couple of places.

I recollect that PP offers two options on how to do the pulldown, and I'll have to go back and look at those for future use. Is one way preferred over the other and if so, why? I'm curious because it's likely I'll shoot more 24p projects and I'll need to figure out the best way to integrate the HV10 footage.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2008, 01:02 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
You may get better results by retiming your 30p footage to 24fps, and just have it play slower. This will look smoother than dropping frames, but depending on the content, may look unnatural. Just a suggestion, won't work for every project.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2008, 07:53 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 61
Tripp --

Are you looking to combine HV10 footage with 24p footage from a DVX or XL2 or HVX, etc?

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp Woelfel View Post
Paul... Thanks. I rather thought that I might have painted myself into a corner shooting at 30p. If my thinking has any validity, 60i is a better choice because the pulldown will use fields to smooth the motion.

Fortunately the 30p footage is very B roll and the notchy playback is only noticeable for a few seconds in a couple of places.

I recollect that PP offers two options on how to do the pulldown, and I'll have to go back and look at those for future use. Is one way preferred over the other and if so, why? I'm curious because it's likely I'll shoot more 24p projects and I'll need to figure out the best way to integrate the HV10 footage.
__________________
Triple E Productions - Award Winning Films/Services
www.PaulDV.com
Paul Del Vecchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2008, 07:38 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Del Vecchio View Post
Are you looking to combine HV10 footage with 24p footage from a DVX or XL2 or HVX, etc?
My universe is all Canon so I'm mixing it with an HV30 and an XH A1.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2008, 01:23 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp Woelfel View Post
My universe is all Canon so I'm mixing it with an HV30 and an XH A1.
Hmm... I'm not familiar with XH A1 footage. Does it shoot 24p over 60i? That would be the only way I see it doing REAL 24p because it's HDV and records to tape, correct?
__________________
Triple E Productions - Award Winning Films/Services
www.PaulDV.com
Paul Del Vecchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2008, 07:59 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Del Vecchio View Post
Hmm... I'm not familiar with XH A1 footage. Does it shoot 24p over 60i? That would be the only way I see it doing REAL 24p because it's HDV and records to tape, correct?
I'm not certain but that sounds right based upon all I've read. Others have hinted at the differences in the way different cameras do 24p but I've never seen a technical description of how Canon do it. Perhaps it's time I seek it out.

Canon refer to their version of 24p as 24f. I don't know if it's germain to your point but it's a data point that might help.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2008, 09:16 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
Canon's A1 does not add pulldown when shooting 24F, while their cheaper HV30 does add pulldown. That makes the A1 footage less compatible with other hardware. The A1 actually only records 24 frames to tape, in a propriety fashion. I have only used the original XL-H1, but I believe the A1 and G1 are similar in their 24F implementation. Ironically I believe the HV30 is capable of properly capturing 24F tapes, even though it can't record in that format.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 05:09 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike McCarthy View Post
Ironically I believe the HV30 is capable of properly capturing 24F tapes, even though it can't record in that format.
That's true. I use the HV30 to capture 24f footage recorded with the A1.

Can you source your statements? I'm not questioning their accuracy, I'm just looking for more resources so I can wrap my head around this whole deal.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 01:16 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
I have a HV30 at work, I either read that in the manual, or in an online review, but it was probably a year ago. No idea exactly where from.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2008, 09:25 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike McCarthy View Post
I have a HV30 at work, I either read that in the manual, or in an online review...
Thanks mate. I'll check out the manual.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2009, 07:29 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
I believe the A1 (and HV30?) capture 24f in a 60i format, so any 60i player can be used to capture the tape to disc. Once there, the NLE has to pull down the 24f that is embedded in the 60i stream. Not sure about the HV30, whether it records 24f to a 60i stream.
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2009, 06:06 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Shealy View Post
I believe the A1 (and HV30?) capture 24f in a 60i format, so any 60i player can be used to capture the tape to disc.
I generally use an HV10 to capture all HDV footage. It will capture 60i footage from my HV30 and A1 but it will not capture 24f. I found this out by accident. The HV30 will capture A1 footage which indicates some compatibility between the two units.

If you look at Mike McCarthy's posts, he indicates that the HV30 and A1 use different schemes to create 24f and the A1 doesn't pull down 24f into 60i whilst the HV30 does.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2009, 08:06 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
Tripp,

So the HV30 can play the A1 24F(embedded in 60i) but the A1 can't play the HV30's 24F (native or embedded differently in 60i)?
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network