HELP - HDV To SD Conversion at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 8th, 2009, 07:15 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
HELP - HDV To SD Conversion

Sorta in a quandry here...Sold my XH-A1 and other video related stuff early last year as the cost to really get into it was taking me to the cleaners.

I have some vacation clips that I captured in HDV and never got around to editing before selling my Aspect HD license. I no longer have a a cam that I can use to re-capture and down convert to edit in an SD project.

Is there a program that I can pass this HDV captured video through to convert it to SD so I can edit it in PPro CS3?

Thanks
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 07:35 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Doesn't PPro CS3 support HDV as a source - i.e., put HDV files on the timeline and then export as DV?
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 07:44 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
It does, but no matter if I import a clip into an HDV or SD project, all I see in the preview windows is "green". Audio is good, but can't see the video.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 08:51 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dearl Golden View Post
I have some vacation clips that I captured in HDV and never got around to editing before selling my Aspect HD license.
Cineform have a free decoder that should let you transcode any Cineform footage you have. It might actually work inside Premier, but I don't know that for sure.

If you want to capture from an HDV tape, you'll need an HDV cam. If you want to capture XH A1 footage recorded at 24f, you'll need a Canon XH, XL or HV30. I don't think anything else will do it.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 09:39 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Wait, are you saying you originally captured using either HDLink or a Cineform preset in Premiere, rather than regular Premiere (m2t)? And now you've uninstalled Aspect so they won't play?

I think you need Aspect or Prospect installed. Download and install the Prospect HD trial and if they play, at least you could then re-encode to something else you can edit in Premiere without Cineform.

Unless I'm completely misunderstanding... it wouldn't be the first time... What's the extension on the captured files?
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 10:08 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
Yes...originally captured with Cineform (Aspect) preset so files are Cineform AVI. I'll try using the Prospect trial.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 10:43 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
If all you need to do is decode, for conversion to another format, you can use Cineform's freeware, non-expiring Neo Player: CineForm NEO Player
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 11:26 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks Graham.....Exactly what I need!

I did DL the Prospect trial and, of course, it works also but there is the 15 day limit.

Assume I can uninstall Prospect now and just import my clips into a Widescreen SD PPro project? The Neo Player will still be in place?
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2009, 11:57 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
You know, I should just read the other posts more thoroughly before I chime in....

Previous version of this post completely redundant.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 12:04 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Actually, I just checked this out the other day. I did not have any Cineform program on a system. I brought some Cineform .avi files in on a USB drive, and they would not edit on Premiere. So I downloaded NeoPlayer, and now I can actually edit the files, but have to render to another format, as I can't render to a second generation Cineform file.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 01:08 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Dearl, To be on the safe side, I would suggest you uninstall Prospect first, then install (or reinstall) Neoplayer. Just in case the uninstall removes a necessary component.

But hey ... it may work fine without doing that. No harm in trying.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2009, 06:43 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
I have uninstalled both Prospect and Neo-Player, then re-installed Neo-Player and opened a DV-NTSC widescreen project and the Cineform files will import and I can now edit this footage. Rendering to non-Cineform isn't a problem, as I just want to get this (vacation) footage onto a DVD.

Thanks to all for the replies.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network