Adobe Premiere discussions from 2002 - Page 14 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2002, 06:38 PM   #196
Silver925
 
Posts: n/a
Premiere 6.5: clip playback

I'm evaluating Premiere 6.5 (R198 in the about box) and Media Studio Pro 6.5.
I have 2 serious problems with Premiere:

1) clip playback in the Clip Window and in the Monitor Window is useless: it just "jumps" instead of showing a smooth video. MSP works well.

2) In the Project Window I import the clips I created with Scenalyzer (freeware) after capturing the whole DV tape. If I tra to play some clips in the small player in the upper left corner of the Project Window I just get a blue screen! With other clips no problem.

If it stays like that I must use MSP...

Thanks
Silver

My PC: P4 2.2 MHz, HD Raid 120GB approx, 512 MB Ram, Asus Geforce 3, Asus Mainboard etc.
 
Old September 11th, 2002, 08:47 PM   #197
MakingMagic
 
Posts: n/a
Capture On Premiere

I just put the Master rough cut, into my XL1-S. Now, I want to watch it back on Premiere, but the sound and picture is jumpy. Why and how can I fix this?
Is it because it was digitized on the editing bay? Can something be done?

Thanks

Nick
 
Old September 11th, 2002, 11:36 PM   #198
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 20
If you haven't tried this already, try capturing a clip in Premiere 6.5 and see how playback works then.
Steve Klusman is offline  
Old September 12th, 2002, 09:02 AM   #199
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
What did you do? Because I'm not exactly following you. I'm
thinking you did this:

1. Digitize all of your footage
2. Edited it
3. Wrote it back out to tape as a movie
4. Digitized that again and watched it?

Am I correct here or not?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 12th, 2002, 09:54 AM   #200
MakingMagic
 
Posts: n/a
Correct

We edited it, and put a master on a DV.
 
Old September 12th, 2002, 05:27 PM   #201
Silver925
 
Posts: n/a
I did capture with Premiere 6.5, then I separated the clips with Scenalyzer (free old version, selected "Premiere compatible timecode" - what's this?).

Btw during capture the audio is bad, but playing is ok. Strange.

Today playback is ok, don't ask me why...

About the crashes:
I think it has to do with the audio: some clips are 32khz, other 48khz. If I set up a project with 32khz and play a 48khz clip it crashes (blue screen or freeze or reboot) and if the project is 48khz I can't use 32khz clips.
Is this possible? I think it's bad!

With Media Studio Pro and Vegas I had no such problem, but for other reasons I prefer Premiere, which is currently not usable.

I'm converting the captured files from 32khz to 48khz saving them from the timeline with 48khz set as output.

I still don't know if this will really work!
 
Old September 12th, 2002, 08:53 PM   #202
Silver925
 
Posts: n/a
I resampled the videos and now all are 48khz.

But going on with the experiments I found out that also Media Studio has troubles and reboots the PC.
I start wondering what's wrong with the PC.

I use a RAID for the data, freshly installed Windows XP Pro (updated online to almost everything, but not SP1). Maybe XP is not ok for video editing?
I moved the clips to a normal HD (no RAID) and it crashed anyway.

Somebody said I have to set up my AV and export disk. What does it mean?
 
Old September 13th, 2002, 12:34 AM   #203
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Diffuse glow adobe premiere

I found out that you can't use adobe photoshop filters in adobe premiere 6.5 running windows xp. I have a friend who used the diffuse glow to give his wedding video a nice effect. ANyone out there know any filters I can use in adobe premiere 6.5 for xp the same effect as the diffuse glow? Or know how to enable the filter in adobe premiere on xp platform?
 
Old September 13th, 2002, 07:45 AM   #204
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
But why did you re-digitize it again? I'd let premiere make a final
output to AVI/DV from the edit, not re-digitizing it again.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 13th, 2002, 10:27 AM   #205
Silver925
 
Posts: n/a
Partly solved

I solved the problem about the crashes, which affected Premiere and MSP when playing clip at higher or lower speed than normal (e.g. using the dial in the Source-Window in MSP):
I use an on-board (ASUS) audio chip from C-Media and this was the cause of all trouble. Turn the audio hardware acceleration completely off and there will be no more crashes .

Now I have a last problem: clip playback in Premiere 6.5 is not ok.
Video plays well, but audio is still bad, like when you have a bad connection with your mobile phone.

The same clips with MSP or Vegas are fine.

Any suggestions? Otherwise I will uninstall Premiere...
 
Old September 13th, 2002, 03:44 PM   #206
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 20
If all things being equal (which obviously they're not right now) you prefer Premiere, I'd give their tech support a call. Adobe's support is some of the best I've seen. It really sounds like you've got some flukey problem that could be easily solved, but the solution is just not apparent right now.

I like Adobe products and prefer Premiere as well. But it's partly because my wife works for Adobe here in Seattle and I can get the software at reduced cost. If I didn't have that advantage I might look around a little more.
Steve Klusman is offline  
Old September 13th, 2002, 06:21 PM   #207
Silver925
 
Posts: n/a
I found a dreastic solution: now I don't use the on-board chip from C-Media anymore. I'm using an old Diamond Aural Vortex 8820 audio card and everything works perfectly, even with hardware acceleration.

I'm surprised that on an ASUS mainboard there is a chip that makes so much trouble! Normally they build great things, but not for A/V (and not for my TV card - this is another story).
It's not the forst time I make bad experiences with C-Media chips.

Anyway, that all for now: I can start my evaluation and try to find out which out of Premiere, Media Studio Pro and Vegas Video will be my preferred tool.

Thanks and see you at the next problem.

Silver
 
Old September 14th, 2002, 07:47 AM   #208
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 49
FYI

I reinstalled just the Quicktime files from the Premiere CD. Then it prompted me to downloads more files and now everthing works fine; nice film effect with scratches, hairs, dust and all.
fargogogo is offline  
Old September 15th, 2002, 10:57 AM   #209
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
I used that effect on one of my productions it works really good. However to be more realistic the scratches need to be black. Still pretty good for free.

Glad everything works fine now.

All the best,

Ed Smith
Ed Smith is offline  
Old September 16th, 2002, 06:02 AM   #210
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
My suggestion would also have been to just go with another
soundcard totally. But you already went down that path. Since
audio is very important in a project as well it might be interesting
to shell out some more cash to go with a semi-pro card that
has much better signal-to-noise ratios and such.

I really never trusted onboard audio before. I can't imagine they
would give "good quality".

Glad you solved your problem(s)!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network