Adobe Premiere discussions from 2002 - Page 18 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 28th, 2002, 01:41 AM   #256
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 18
Found the option to download the setup file from quicktime.com and tried out the Premiere effects. They seem....too fake, to be honest. Maybe too stark white or something, I don't know...still looking for other options. I found this page:

http://www.digieffects.com/frames/DEAW/AgedFilmTextInfo.html

I think they have a package that's pretty much exactly what I'm looking for, but it's $150, and the link for the demo download isn't working, so emailed them about that. Hopefully they'll fix the download soon, if the site's even still active at all...

-Ryoko
wiredryoko is offline  
Old September 28th, 2002, 03:22 AM   #257
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: sheffield
Posts: 22
More Premiere effects questions

How do I create (I have Premiere 6 and after effects 5, but yet to install after effects 5 with Cinelook) the end of reel mark usually found on cinema reels, that 4 frame white circle in the right hand top corner that appears once at 10 seconds to end of reel (?) and then at 3 seconds is it? Is there an option for this anywhere in my software, or how would I do this manually.

Someone may have indicated this already somewhere in another thread, but how would I simulate film splices, ie the black line across 2 frames where transparent splicing tape would be? Could this be done in After Effects? And on that, how would I re-create the inevitable projector gate jump for 1 frame during the splice?

Trying to get a totally authentic look here.......

Yet to install CINELOOK and After Effects 5, but does this emulate things like film gate-weave, or this is to advanced for such a budget package?
goldenfleece is offline  
Old September 30th, 2002, 11:41 AM   #258
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If you want to do this (and that is a big if, i can't see many
reasons why) you will need a seperate package like cinelook
or something. Check those products and their feature lists
to see if it offers what you want. In premiere there is a (too)
simple one... Right click in your footage bin and go down the
New menu and select Universal Counting Leader. Make sure
Cue Blip on Out is selected. Click ok. This will make a short
movie counting down and in the last couple of frames there
will be a circle in the upper right corner. You might be able
to mask this one out and put it over your footage.

It might be easier to just draw something in Photoshop though
and import that with a transparent layer or something...

Just some thoughts...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old October 1st, 2002, 01:05 PM   #259
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: sheffield
Posts: 22
Premiere question

I cant work out how to capture individual clips in premiere. Using movie capture I get one huge avi file with many different scenes in. I cant find a sort into clips option anywhere....

In Windows Movie maker you can break up a whole avi file into individual clips automatically which I find very useful, and it has a full quality DV setting now I have the latest update for it.

How can I get premiere to auto capture each scene in this way so I can then swap things around later, etc, and avoid using Movie Maker altogether.

Probably a very simple answer here. Sometimes these things stare you in the face but you just cant see the wood for the trees, etc
goldenfleece is offline  
Old October 1st, 2002, 02:16 PM   #260
_redone_
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 224
Ive never heard of premiere doing such a method. I usually record
bars inbetween my scenes and capture the whole thing. then go and slice up the footage afterwards..How does movie maker achive this? how does it recognize each scene to place them individually in the timeline? If you find
something like this in Premiere, be sure to let me know..sounds like and
effective method.
__________________
Adam Lawrence
eatdrink Media
Las Vegas NV
www.eatdrinkmedia.com
Adam Lawrence is offline  
Old October 1st, 2002, 03:39 PM   #261
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: sheffield
Posts: 22
Windows Movie maker in XP detects each individual camera shot based on the timecode, once you have recorded the whole capture as one avi file, it will then break it down into each component shot, each with sound. Very very useful feature, you can then trim and crop each clip, re-arrange them on the timeline and re-save the avi file to standard DV quality.

I found it invaluable and was stunned that premiere could not work out each individual camera shot and create clips in the same way. Each clip is displayed in a collection/project window with timecode, date, time of shot, etc and you can edit away just by dragging and dropping without comlex toolbars getting in the way. I love it. Thats about all Windows Movie Maker is good for though, nothing more advanced than that....but what a feature! Most people dont like Movie Maker but for pure simplicity its a breeze to use for basic editing.

Perhaps Vegas or Studio does something along these lines, don't know.
goldenfleece is offline  
Old October 2nd, 2002, 02:25 AM   #262
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Premiere doesn't support this feature (yet). Will probably come
in the near future. There is also a free program out called
Scenelyzer that can do this for you. You can download that
program here:

http://scenalyzer.de/scenalyzer.zip

It will scan your AVI's and break them up. I capture in Premiere
and use this little program. They also have a product for which
you must pay that does it life whilst capturing. Haven't tried/
looked at that product yet, but they do have a demo available
at www.scenalyzer.com

Good luck.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old October 2nd, 2002, 09:37 AM   #263
Registration Incomplete -- contact Admin.
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 29
Isn't this the batch capture option in Premier?
wefdenver is offline  
Old October 2nd, 2002, 11:48 AM   #264
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Might be indeed... Never looked at it myself. Not sure if batch
capture will do it "automatically" though.... Good one to try though!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old October 4th, 2002, 09:11 AM   #265
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: sheffield
Posts: 22
batch capture

Batch capture in premiere does not work automatically. Windows movie maker is much better at this for some reason.

It seems the best way to import lots of files and break them all up into clips for re-arranging the whole bunch at once. Very simple, except once this has been done and new .avi file made, you cannot then break it back into clips as it renders as one long file, with no timecode changes to break up the clips. What a pain....
goldenfleece is offline  
Old October 7th, 2002, 12:25 AM   #266
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 60
playing clips in reverse in Premiere 6.5

I was wondering if anyone knows of a way to flip
a clip in the timeline so that it plays backwards.

ie: if you tape someone falling of a chair onto the ground, how can you have the clip played backwards so that the person starts on the ground and jumps up back into the chair.

I've looked around Premiere and don't see a way to do it.
Can After Effects do it?

thanx guys.
Jim Ioannidis is offline  
Old October 7th, 2002, 07:38 AM   #267
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 730
in premiere right click on the video in the timeline, and change the speed to a minus value, -100% will normal time backwards, -50% will be slowmotion backwards and so on.


kermie
Zac Stein is offline  
Old October 7th, 2002, 12:22 PM   #268
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 60
COOOOOOL

I never even considered setting the speed to a negative number.

thanx alot
Jim Ioannidis is offline  
Old October 8th, 2002, 05:41 AM   #269
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Very cool trick indeed. I once found that out by accident. Sometimes
it can be very interesting to play a bit with variables!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old October 11th, 2002, 09:50 PM   #270
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 39
Need someone's help with Premiere!

Hello All!

I really need some help, I am playing around with Premiere 6.0 and am having trouble with frames dropping out while capturing from my XL1. I have the XL selected as my device to be captured, and am using all other default settings. I really don't know much about this stuff as I am new to it all (better with betacam tapes! HA!) So I could really use some troubleshooting tips. Could lack of RAM be the problem? I only have 128 mb right now as I am awaiting delivery of (2) 256 chips. My Firewire card is the CompUSA store brand model, might that be the issue? Or is there some setting I need to adjust? Thanks in advance for your suggestions!

-SL
SammyLeopold is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network