Adobe Premiere discussions from 2002 - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 23rd, 2002, 10:19 PM   #31
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Justin Walter - Salt Lake City
Posts: 51
This happens to me on more complicated projects when I try to play an exported video, or just previewing the timeline. It has never happended when I use the 'Print to Tape' (not sure if that is exactly what it is called). Sorry, caffine is killing my memory - You go to 'file', 'export', 'Print to Tape'. Try that if you haven't already and let me know what happens.
Justin Walter is offline  
Old February 24th, 2002, 08:26 PM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 42
DR_Pepper_78,

STILL NO LUCK! I need to get some sleep this week, but I can't turn out projects with this mess. When I play it back it will go to the "blue no signal" screen of my VCR and then play through again creating that jump cut. Some times it will hiccup, and then go into a fast-forward mode. I have read about other people experiencing the same kinds of problems. My Premiere software is not exactly store bought either which may be part of the problem.
__________________
Dan
Dan Dorsey is offline  
Old February 25th, 2002, 03:44 AM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockwall, TX, USA
Posts: 77
Try this.

FILE/EXPORT/MOVIE/MICROSOFT DV AVI

Then when it is finished, simply do

FILE/OPEN/...and select that file you just created. It will open up in a new window and just press "play" and should play back perfectly smooth. Give it a shot and let me know if that works for you.
Bradley Miller is offline  
Old February 25th, 2002, 01:56 PM   #34
_redone_
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 224
editing

ive never imported premiere projects into after effects due to that reason..

i usually do all my color corrections, effects ect. in after effects.
then render a new avi to go to premiere for edit..

then output from there....

or vice versa i guess..
Adam Lawrence is offline  
Old February 26th, 2002, 03:53 AM   #35
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
only problem with that is space & time. If I want todo
that and not loose any quality I need to export either
uncompressed or in a lossless format (ie, not DV). This
takes muchos diskspace and time. Not ideal.

I have been rethinking my problem. I only have like 4
dissolves or something. The rest are all straight cuts
which After Effects has no problems with. So it is not
too much work todo those 4 manually.

Too bad After Effects cannot run inside Premiere (or
vice versa) as a plugin..

Oh well.... keep on dreaming
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old February 26th, 2002, 02:16 PM   #36
_redone_
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 224
dv

yup..

thats the only down fall is space and rendering time
...

but if you figure out a way to import projects from premiere
flawlessly then let me know...

i found using the microsoft DV compressor works well..
not the best but it makes for a good compression without
a noticable loss of quality...and doesnt take up much space.
Adam Lawrence is offline  
Old March 10th, 2002, 02:11 PM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 220
Many times the system is O.K. but we leave applications running in the background, often we are not aware that these resources are running. Make sure virus checkers and other such applications are not running and sucking resources away.

Andrew
Andrew Leigh is offline  
Old March 12th, 2002, 11:27 AM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 42
Premiere 6 and 32/48khz audio

Has anyone mixed 32 and 48 khz audio in a premiere project? Adobe says to "avoid" mixing the two...but they don't say "you can't" !

I'd like to know what the possible problems that mixing would cause. (I'd like to export the finished project at 48K)

(Love this website!)
fargograf is offline  
Old March 12th, 2002, 02:30 PM   #39
Registration Incomplete -- contact Admin.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 108
I didn't realize that adobe actually says to "avoid" this?

I've actually tried this and have experienced some problems. Nasty ones. My PC runs WindowsXP with Adobe Premiere 6.01. I've got pretty decent hardware. I never expereince crashes...system runs smoothly. Well, guess I should say, hardly crashes.

BUT...I experienced my first serious crash after about so many months...and all because I mixed 32 and 48 khz audio in a premiere project.

It's been awhile since I've tried but from what I remember sometimes I can mix audio formats if I start with a 32 khz project. Sometimes is the key. If I started with a 48 khz project and imported video that included audio that was less than 48 khz...my machine would crash horribly. OR it could have been the other way around now that I'm thinking about it. It may have crashed from starting with a 32 khz and importing 48khz.

In any case, be careful. I would just fool around with it. There are some workarounds you can do but it's just something you have to play around with.
mdreyes23 is offline  
Old March 12th, 2002, 04:49 PM   #40
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 42
mixed audio

I wonder if a 32 k file can be "converted" to a 48 k file? Anyone know?
fargograf is offline  
Old March 13th, 2002, 05:41 AM   #41
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yes, that is possible. But you really want to avoid conversions
in sample rate. Any conversions for that matter, whether
sample rate, video fps or video resolution. Any conversion is
always bad to have (i'm not going to talk about compression
here!). But if really needed, it can be done! Try to get the
best audio applications or plug-ins to do this for you! I doubt
Premiere will have the routines todo this good. It isn't an
audio package afterall. I heard Steinberg WaveLab is pretty
good. But I suggest listening to a true audio expert or asking
one about this.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old March 13th, 2002, 12:26 PM   #42
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
You can use sound recorder which comes with windows.

load the file in, click file>save as>> change, then choose the quality (CD quality), click ok and there we go.

Hope this helps,

Ed Smith
Ed Smith is offline  
Old March 26th, 2002, 08:52 AM   #43
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Premiere users

For anyone using Premiere this guide is quite useful.

http://www.adobe.com/support/techguides/premiere/main.html
Adrian Douglas is offline  
Old March 26th, 2002, 12:59 PM   #44
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Cheers for the link Adrian
Ed Smith is offline  
Old April 1st, 2002, 11:52 AM   #45
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
It may depend on what track it is in.

I use Cinestream and not Premiere. However, the same techniques may apply.

In CS the general advice is to reserve a certain audio tracks for different sampling rates. Mixing different audio rates in the same tracks is well known for causing unusual and undesirable audio effects. By reserving these tracks for 32KHz these problems are avoided.

When rendering to the master audio track (AP) which can be set to 48KHz for the project, the system mixes the audio without resampling.

I am sure that probably applies for Premiere as well.

Nathan Gifford
Nathan Gifford is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network