CS2 installation problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2009, 11:34 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 554
CS2 installation problem

Hi Folks,

Tried installing Production Studio Premium CS2 on a new PC (running and i7 CPU, XP Pro) and having a serious problem. At first, after running Disk 1, the PC re-started by itself, and continued from there (so I thought no worries). Then I installed the other disks, and again seemed to be no problems whatsoever. (I also installed Cineform Aspect HD.) Then, I re-started the computer, then nothing...

Just a black screen and a lone blinking cursor.

Tried digging thru Adobe's forums and knowledgebase search, but I can't even get to the start up screen.

Any help will be greatly appreciated,
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2009, 10:08 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 554
Problem somewhat solved. I solved the problem of the blank screen and lone cursor. Turned out that when the PC boots up, it'd boot to another HDD, instead of the OS HDD. Okay, no more blank screen.

So I uninstalled Adobe CS, installed it again, but After Effects 7 doesn't recognize the serial number. (After painful hours at the Adobe forums, turned out it's a known issue, and some users had solutions that involved going into the registry, etc. etc. Even called Adobe, but was politely, and oh so nicely, was turned down for any help, as they do not support CS2 anymore.) So, I uninstalled/installed CS2 again, but not After Effects, and all other CS2 programs seem to be running. (Unfortunately, Cineform was wonky, and became another issue. So did Magic Bullet Suite; I'm calling them next :) So...

I thought I'd see if I can install After Effects again, just for sh**s and giggles. And voila! After Effects seems to be working!

Not being a PC tech at all, it's difficult to troubleshoot problems on my own. But found alot of solutions, and advice at the web. Waiting to see if the new PC crashes :)

Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2009, 12:19 PM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,502
Jeff, I was searching for something else and found this old thread.

I moved away from Adobe but I am coming back occasionally on projects with heavy audio editing or when I have lots of pictures to use - I still love the integration between the different pieces of Adobe software.

So I am thinking about a new i7 based computer and I was wondering if CS2 ended up working fine for you... seems like others report that older Adobe stuff works better on newer hardware.

Can you confirm this?

Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network