Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 missing HDV support? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2009, 10:54 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 missing HDV support?

I just installed the full CS4 production premium package and find that in Premiere CS4 I only have presets for DV and P2 DVCPRO....nothing even remotely mentioning HDV. When I try to setup custom presets I cannot seem to create anything using the HDV settings? Am I missing something? I have not activated it yet but I have 30 days to do so.

Thanks in advance. CS3 had great support for HDV out of the box so I'd expect CS4 to be at at least the same level.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 10:56 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 256
Is this a trial version? The trial does not have support for HDV.
Lloyd Coleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 12:26 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lloyd Coleman View Post
Is this a trial version? The trial does not have support for HDV.
It is not a trial, it is the full version, I entered the serial number and everything. It has not asked me to activate it however.....could this be the cause? On older versions I had to acticate it before I ran it the first time or else it was in 30 day trial mode. I'll see what I can figure out here.

Thanks.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 10:30 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Marty, I have both CS3 and CS4 installed.

My recollection is that CS4 installed in a very similar manner to CS3. It began in trial mode, asked if I had a serial and wanted to activate - once I did some extra stuff got installed (including HDV functionality). I then had all the same presets etc that I see in CS3.

It sounds like that second phase of the install hasn't happened for you.

I could be wrong, but my impression is that there isn't a separate trial version - the program just runs with reduced functionality until you activate.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2009, 07:36 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Marty, CS4 did not ask me to activate either (full version on DVD, no trials). It apparently did so upon installation without prompt. I don't like that, but fortunately deactivating is the easiest of any software I've used.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network