Panasonic HVX-200 Files in .mov wrapper on a Mac at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2009, 09:46 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 11
Panasonic HVX-200 Files in .mov wrapper on a Mac

I worked with a videographer friend last year who shot with the HVX-200 and HVX-200A. He offloaded the video to his computer through Final Cut. I now have a copy of the file library, all .mov's and I am trying to do some editing in Premier CS3 but it says Codec not found when I try to import the files. Any suggestions on how I can get access to the proper codec?

Thanks!

Drew
Drew Fulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:10 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
I suppose you have Quicktime installed. If you do and the files still don`t open properly, chances are your friend ingested or transcoded the files into ProRes. That`s a QT codec that comes with Final Cut Studio 2. Try to download Prores decoder here:

apple.com/support/downloads/appleproresquicktimedecoder10forwindows.html

You won`t get convenient editing performance, but you should be able to convert your files into something more suitable for PC Premiere.

If you cannot read these files anyway, your friend will have to do the conversion on his mac.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 10:12 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 11
Thanks for the response. However, I am working on a Mac, not Windows. Thats what has me so frustrated.

ADDITION:
I just opened one of the files in Quicktime. Audio will play but video is just black. A Window pops up sending me to a website to look for a codec but I don't see it there.
In the movie inspector, the format reads: DVCPRO HD 1080p30, 1280 x 1080 (1888 x 1062), Millions

Maybe that can help.

Thanks!
Drew
Drew Fulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Sadly, it seems you are outta luck with this one. You need FCP or Avid to even import these files, and you would need to convert them all into something else for Premiere anyway. Buy a nice bottle of wine for your friend and ask him to convert them for you. Qt with PhotoJPEG set to 100 per cent quality is the safest bet, if you need extra quality, go for QT Animation. You could transcode to XDCAM too.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2009, 01:29 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 11
It appears I am not totally out of luck. I found a decoder available from calibrated softare (Calibrated Software). As all I am trying to do at the moment is play with around with Premiere and learn the ropes, I can just take advantage of the demo and not worry about the grey boxes. Otherwise, its like $65 or so for those interested in purchasing the codec.

Drew
Drew Fulton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network