Deleting the end part of a clip - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2009, 06:39 AM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
If I do decide to use the Crop effect, do I need to render a preview before I export the sequences? Is there a way to export/render many sequences at once?
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 06:40 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Overscan is indeed a leftover from good old 'analog times' - it was needed because the analog circuitry could not be calibrated for the picture to fill the screen, due to electronic component tolerance. With the new fixed pixel digital displays this could be dropped, but because compatibility with older TV sets has to be maintained, overscan is still in use.

However, different manufacturers approach the issue differently, and the general tendency is to reduce overscan. While some old CRT sets have manufacturer recommended overscan of as high as 10%, today some LCDs go as low as 5% and I've even seen 3%.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 06:44 AM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Cofran View Post
If I do decide to use the Crop effect, do I need to render a preview before I export the sequences? Is there a way to export/render many sequences at once?
1. No, there is no need to render.
2. Not that I know of. If you have to do this on 80 hours of footage, you're going to have some serious time management issues!

A much better option for cropping would be to use a program capable of batch encoding, like ProCoder. Procoder can also be set to improve the footage if needed.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 06:50 AM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ervin Farkas View Post
1. No, there is no need to render.
2. Not that I know of. If you have to do this on 80 hours of footage, you're going to have some serious time management issues!

A much better option for cropping would be to use a program capable of batch encoding, like ProCoder. Procoder can also be set to improve the footage if needed.
I'm starting to see advantages as a FCP user I took for granted.

I have two PCs so while one is capturing I can edit ones that have been already captured and copied to an external hard drive. But yes I'd have to have that ability to make it worth my while.

thx
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 09:53 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
There is no theoretical need for overscan/underscan on LCDs, but I think some margin is still being cut for exactly this reason - there ARE artifacts in both digital and analog video.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network