3 minute .mov limit at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 7th, 2003, 09:08 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
3 minute .mov limit

When I export from Premiere 6.5 to .avi, I can do it, but when I try the Quicktime option it cuts everything off just after 3 minutes, but I don't know why. Also, I can't get 6.5 to recognize my DVX100. I use a Canopus Raptor. The reason for this is my friend is making the DVD on his Powerbook and needs a .mov file to work with. His computer doens't recognize avi files, or at least now Canopus Raptor-generated avi's.

Will upgrading to Premiere 7 (Pro) resolve this issue and others? Can I import 6.5 projects into 7 without a problem? Is it even a Premiere problem, and not a Windows or Canopus issue?
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2003, 11:44 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
Ah, screw it, I should just get a G5.
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 04:35 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 328
You might want to wait a few months before getting a G5, as they are still kind of buggy.

Is Adobe Premiere 6.5 the latest version? If so I have heard nothing but complaints about it from a friend who has the "latest version". This may be a quirk. Try making sure your in and out points on the timeline are set correctly, if applicable. That's about all I can suggest.
Ted Springer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 05:20 PM   #4
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
TC,

Hold off for the dual 3 gHz G5 they're saying will be released early next year.
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 08:05 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
<<<-- Originally posted by Ted Springer : You might want to wait a few months before getting a G5, as they are still kind of buggy.

Is Adobe Premiere 6.5 the latest version? If so I have heard nothing but complaints about it from a friend who has the "latest version". This may be a quirk. Try making sure your in and out points on the timeline are set correctly, if applicable. That's about all I can suggest. -->>>

Premiere 7 (Pro) is the latest, and I haven't upgraded to it yet as I was afraid it would be buggy, as they built this one from the ground up, or so I hear. This is a problem with 6.5. I export the timeline to .mov, just as I would export to .avi, which has no such issues, and it gives me just over three minutes of whatever project I'm working on. Across the board. There's no mention of a cutoff or any settings to change to affect this. It just happens, as far as I can see, and I have no idea why. It's really frustrating because I really want to be done with this thing already.

I don't have nearly enough money to buy a G5, actually, and the earliest I could get one would be early next year in any case.
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 08:16 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 328
Another Question would be: Do you have Quicktime Pro? I don't know if this would make a difference, but maybe Quicktime clips you if it isn't the fully registered version. Also, have you tried encoding different codecs using Quicktime? Try something like Sorenson or one of the other codecs. Try adjusting the compression level. I am grasping at straws here, but that's what I would try.

As for the DV issue, my friend couldn't get Premiere to recognize ANY DV camera (I think it was Premiere 6 or 5.5... not sure, he just "upgraded") because he had a Canopus DV Raptor capture card, which he has also come to loath. I think the latest Premiere fixes that issue, at least. Is there a tab or option in premiere that lets you switch between camera and non-controllable device? I had this problem in Final Cut Pro and it was set to non-controllable device.
Ted Springer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 08:20 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
<<<-- Originally posted by Ted Springer : Another Question would be: Do you have Quicktime Pro? I don't know if this would make a difference, but maybe Quicktime clips you if it isn't the fully registered version. Also, have you tried encoding different codecs using Quicktime? Try something like Sorenson or one of the other codecs. Try adjusting the compression level. I am grasping at straws here, but that's what I would try. -->>>

I have Quicktime Pro, actually, but the project is a Premiere project, thus it is either Premiere or Windows in general that seems to be the problem here. Also, there are many Quicktime compression choices listed in the export choices. I selected the first one, "Planar RGB". This may have been a bad choice, but I don't know which one would be best. Does anyone know?
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 08:23 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Glendale CA
Posts: 328
If you are exporting for the web, I'd choose Sorenson or Sorenson 3, with the compression a little above 50%. The audio should be IMA 4:1 and 32Khz stereo. That'll give you a good web video.

If you want to watch it on your TV, I'd just export to Quicktime NTSC DV (or PAL, depending on where you are) full quaity, no sound compression. I have never used Planar RGB and I would be suspect, because some of those codecs are a little wacky.
Ted Springer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 08:27 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
mpeg4 audio gives much better compression but it needs QT6 to play back. sorenson3 needs QT5.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2003, 08:31 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
<<<-- Originally posted by Ted Springer : If you are exporting for the web, I'd choose Sorenson or Sorenson 3, with the compression a little above 50%. The audio should be IMA 4:1 and 32Khz stereo. That'll give you a good web video.

If you want to watch it on your TV, I'd just export to Quicktime NTSC DV (or PAL, depending on where you are) full quaity, no sound compression. I have never used Planar RGB and I would be suspect, because some of those codecs are a little wacky. -->>>

I'd choose no compression if the choice were there, but it's not; you have to choose one to export to Quicktime, even at 100% quality. There's still no reason for it to stop after 3 minutes, though.

This is for a DVD, btw, not the web, so I want the highest quality export I can get from the original Premiere project file.
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2003, 09:06 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
<<<-- Originally posted by Ted Springer : Try choosing "Uncompressed 10-bit 4:2:2". That's uncompressed. -->>>

I don't see where I can choose that when exporting the movie from Premiere.
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2003, 10:51 PM   #12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Please launch QuickTime Pro when you are in QuickTime go to import movie. From there go to where anyone of the .avi files reside and then import it into QT.

This is to check if you have the capabilities to play a file as you might be missing a codec for QT. Having done this and it works the next step is to make sure that you have exported your entire project as this I have done in the past only exporting a partial.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2003, 12:28 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
<<<-- Originally posted by Tom Neumann : Please launch QuickTime Pro when you are in QuickTime go to import movie. From there go to where anyone of the .avi files reside and then import it into QT.

This is to check if you have the capabilities to play a file as you might be missing a codec for QT. Having done this and it works the next step is to make sure that you have exported your entire project as this I have done in the past only exporting a partial. -->>>

My Quicktime will play .avi files in general. And in Premiere I was exporting the whole timeline so there's no reason Premiere should only export just over 3 minutes.
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 07:40 AM   #14
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm not sure whether (older) Mac's have this problem, but are
you running into a/the 2 GB or 4 GB barrier?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 09:14 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 159
Could be, the files stop at 3.99 gigs. When I exported to .avi format, it had no such barrier, though. Why would it suddenly have the barrier for the .mov files?
Tao-ming Lin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network