Which preset for a 720 x 576 project ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 8th, 2009, 04:47 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 6
Which preset for a 720 x 576 project ?

Hi,
I'm going to be using Premiere Pro CS4 Mac to edit video using files from a HD3 sports camera with a CS580 bullet cam.
The files output by the camera are 720 x 576 PAL, H.264, AAC, in MOV format. Being new to Premiere Pro, I'm not sure which preset I should select when creating a new project.
Any clue ?
Thanks.
Edward Lichtner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 05:30 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
I'm away from by Adobe system at present, but there are several PAL setups in the project setup window, surely one of them would be the right frame size and rate. You can do the "interpret footage" function to conform footage also. I can't recall if APP will recognize H.264 and AAC Quicktime natively, you may find it necessary to transcode to dv-avi, maybe not...I don't have access to PAL footage to check for you, but when you start a new project the options window will list what's available...hmmm, looks like I'm not being much help here...Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team

(at home) There is a standard 720x576 pal setup which you will see when you open a new project. I think the question will be if APP will handle the h264/aac combination in a quicktime file...

Last edited by Battle Vaughan; April 8th, 2009 at 08:26 PM. Reason: update
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2009, 10:13 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
You may be better off when first converting the material to DV AVI type2 and then importing into PP. Your material is a beast to edit.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2009, 02:13 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 6
Hi guys,
Thanks for your take on this. Actually, my main problem so far was to get the clips to output properly from PP4 without being stretched.
I found out my file have a 768 x 576 image crammed into a 720 x 576 file container, hence the distortion on output. The picture appeared OK in PP4, because of the corrected aspect ratio (w/h) preview. But the final output was stretched. Dealing with the h.264 and AAC compressions + QuickTime file format in PP4 was not an issue, though.
I found a workaround by correcting the w/h setting of the original clips in QuickTime Pro before importing into PP4. This should do the trick.
In fact, chosing the import preset in PP4 was the least of my problems...
I'll come back if things don't go the way I hope.
Edw.
Edward Lichtner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network