Premeire Pro Rendering Pushes CPU's over 92 degrees C. - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2004, 10:23 PM   #16
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Glen, the thermometer is useful in checking your software for accuracy. In Steve’s case how do you know the 92 degrees was accurate? Maybe it's actually only 50 degrees. I can't tell you the number of times that software temperature measurements in various devices (much more expensive than a PC) were way off in reporting temperatures.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2004, 10:33 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Haven, CT, USA
Posts: 59
Well, the computer restarted on its own. I went into BIOS and it said 105/93. I didn't check it with the BIOS after I installed my desk fan, but the MSI probe said it went up to 83 while I rendered out my project.

I didn't have auto-shutdown enabled on the BIOS for shutting down when the processors reach a certain temperature, because the highest setting is 75 and mine go over that... the processors shut themselves down that time.

I'm actually getting a new P4 3.2 Ghz system (that purchase was coming anyway). It's my hope that when I take out some of the components from my current system (like the second hard drive, soundcard, etc) that it will bring down the temperature somewhat and improve airflow.... enough for me to use this as a render node for Lightwave 3D. If not, I may have to look into under clocking the processors.

Thanks for all of the tips everyone.
Steve Withers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2004, 11:41 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi Steve,

Had the same problems with my Intel P4 3.2@800 HT - bought an expensive Zalman 7000 all copper - didn't help. Ended up using a watercooling solution from http://www.asetek.dk - now my highest temp reading is 48 after hours of 100% CPU load.

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network