Where did the clip filter go since PPRO 2.0? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2009, 02:49 PM   #1
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,767
Where did the clip filter go since PPRO 2.0?

Under the transform section of the filters in Premiere Pro 2 there was a handy little filter called clip. This resided just above the crop filter. It worked about the same as crop but it would fill in the area that crop deleted with a solid color of your choice. I would use black to create a border. A typical setting would look like this:

clip filter----
top: 2 pixels
bottom: 2 pixels
left: 2 pixels
right: 2 pixels
color: black

This would create a 2 pixel black border around the entire image. Now this may seem odd at first but I use this all the time to frame smaller SD videos and images inside of HD projects with animated HD backgrounds and text. It was quick and easy and part of Premiere that I used "everyday" at my job creating motion graphics.

It is gone, gone, gone in CS3 and CS4 and there appears to be no easy replacement for this method. Surely I can create masks and such in Photoshop and AE but when I need this tool I usually apply it to dozens of clips that are animated and moving around and I do not need to be keyframing a matching border to follow it, especially since time is critical as clients are very frugal these days. When they ask why we billed them more do I tell them that Adobe took away features and now I have to do this manually so they have to pay more? :)

Any ideas how to get this functionality back in CS3/4 or a manageable work around.

I just want a black border on individual images and videos that will automatically follow them when I animate them in Premiere.

Thanks all.

Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2009, 01:27 AM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,210
there is a workround in CS3.
I've just tried it:

1/ place a colour matte or background clip on video 1.
2/ place the clip to be treated (resized) on video 3.
3/ place black (or any colour you choose) on video 2 and resize it to give the size of border you want. You can even apply Gaussian blur if you wish.

If you have any keyframed movement etc on your main clip on video 3, you can copy and then paste attributes to the border on video 2.

As I said, its a workround...
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network