Multi-Camera Audio? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 28th, 2009, 12:11 AM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Multi-Camera Audio?

Using CS4. I have a couple of camera angles from an event, with ambient sound. Separately, I have audio used for the event on CD, that I imported to the project.

So I created a sequence with the two camera angles, and got those synched up. I've got the CD audio aligned along the various spots within the sequence where they need to be. The master track is 5.1.

In the multi-camera sequence, I got everything cut up the way it needs to be. Now I'm trying to get the audio all squared away, because Premiere Pro didn't behave as I expected. What I *want* is to have the 5.1 master from the original sequence to have been recorded in the multi-camera sequence. Failing that, I would've been happy with a submix. Failing that, I would've been happy copying the source sequence, and adding the copy's audio to a 5.1 track.

Of course, Adobe, in all their wisdom and brilliantly-absent thinking, decided I cannot use a 5.1 track in multi-camera, and they decided I cannot use the master track in multi-camera, and they decided I cannot use a submix in multi-camera.

Is there an easy way to take the master track from my source sequence, and get it all cut up to match my multi-camera cuts? Well, not the multi-camera cuts so much as the transition between performances at the event, in the multi-camera sequence. I.e., one performance should have its 5.1 audio track from the source sequence (which, of course, cannot be used in multi-camera editing) that should play regardless of camera angle.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. it's late and my thinking cap is all scrunched up, and right now I'm pretty ticked at Adobe.

5.1 audio is a requirement...


Last edited by Matt Vanecek; April 28th, 2009 at 12:11 AM. Reason: mispelled event
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2009, 01:23 AM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,210
Can't you just open a new sequence, drag the edited multicam sequence into it and then add the 5.1 track and sync it up. You can then make all the transition edits etc on this new sequence?
You're only dealing with already-edited blocks.
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network