ATI HD 4850 Graphics card and CS4 compatabliity? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 4th, 2009, 07:05 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
ATI HD 4850 Graphics card and CS4 compatabliity?

Hello.
I formally was running a Nvidia 8800GT graphics card with premiere and everything worked well. I upgraded to an ATI HD 4850 and since then things have not been so smooth. Of course it could just be my machine but i am wondering if anyone out there has the same GPU and is working fine with it. I noticed on the Adobe 3rd party hardware compatibility list that the 4850 is not listed. However older ATI cards are. Why have they not updated the list?? all the cards are from like 2 years old at newest.
Well, I think i may sell my 4850 now. I am thinking of getting a new Nvidia Geforce 285.

Adobe - Adobe Premiere Pro CS4: Third-party hardware compatibility
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2009, 07:38 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Adobe is usually two to three years behind with their supported hardware list. That is their common practice. However, I have not experienced any difficulties with my 4870 card. It works great and no stability problems whatsoever, even slightly overclocked.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2009, 07:39 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 233
I have Adobe CS4 and a Dell XPS Studio desktop with the 4850 card, no problems so far... what do you mean by "things aren't smooth"

-Steve
__________________
www.spreefilms.com - Give me a museum and I'll fill it!
Steve Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 08:42 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Nevermind, card not to blame

Well i just bought a 9800GT to test it and i have the exact same problems so the 4850 must have been fine all along.

The probme i am having is one particular project that will not save properly. I project formally from CS3. Projects i created native in CS4 seem to work fine in my initial tests thus far.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 08:56 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
I have an intermittant problem with an ATI card. It seems to be related to the fit in the socket on the motherboard. There is also a short conductor on the strip. I don't know whether this is purposed or whether it might be a faulty card.

When it goes a bit weird, I take the card out, give the slot on the motherboard a bit of a clean and re-assemble, which seems to fix it for a while.
Bob Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 08:58 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
This can also point to a faulty or underpowered PSU, that is showing signs of capacitor aging.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 06:35 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
After extensive testing, I can conclude the card, nor any hardware is the blame. I took the project and opened it on a newer computer and the same problem occurs. It will not save. So the project file itself is to blame. Im not sure what to do but at least we know its not hardware related.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2009, 10:52 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: North Hollywood, Atlanta
Posts: 437
Missing video Codec.

I figured out the problem ... It was a missing video codec that was causing the problem all along. I had not installed Blackmagic Intensity codecs for MJPEG video files that were in the project. I forgot i captured a few shots with blackmagic intensity and the new Vista 64 bit instalation had never had the blackmagic card in it or the drivers installed, so the project didnt know what the files were and it crashed. Wow, glad i solved this problem. Cant believe i didn't realize this now.

So for any of you out there, make note that if you use any files with exotic codecs in your project it might need them to open the project on another computer... I dont think this was listed on the adobe possible problems list.
__________________
Tyson X
Tyson Persall is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network