DSR-11 and Premiere CS3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 28th, 2009, 04:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 38
DSR-11 and Premiere CS3

I have recenlty borrowed a DSR-11 to capture around 36 hours of footage. I didn't want to
put the hours on my xh-a1. However, I can't get Premiere to see the deck at all.

I am running a Windows laptop with Vista-32bit. The first time I plugged the deck in using a firewire 400 plug, windows saw the device and looked for drivers. After about 4 minutes it found them and installed them. It said it was using "Sony Audio/Video device driver".

So I opened premiere when I opened the capture window nothing was there.

Since I really needed to get captureing because I only have so long with the deck, I decided to give the Windows Capture Wizard a shot.

I unplugged the deck, plugged it back in and was prompted by Windows to choose either the Capture Wizard or Premiere Pro to capture footage. I clicked on Capture Wizard, which launched and worked on a 1 min. test clip. The quality was good so I unplugged the deck and plugged it back in to get back into the capture wizard, Windows prompted me again and I clicked on the Capture Wizard and nothing happened. After about 5 min. I decided to unplug the deck and try again. When I unplugged it Windows said that Capture Wizard encountered an error when it lost connection with the deck. So after several more attempts I can't even get Windows to prompt me when I plug the deck in.

So I guess the sum of it is I need to get this deck working with my computer, I don't care right now which program I use, I would prefer Premiere of course but since I am on a tight schedule I will take what I can get.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Patrick Myers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2009, 07:06 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 810
I use the same deck with CS3 and no issues. The problem might be with your power-on procedure or perhaps a bad cable. In general, I will fire up the deck before Premiere is opened (computer needs to recognize the drive first).
What mobo are you using? Do you have a PCI card for your firewire or is it integral? All of your drivers updated? Any issues with other firewire devices? Hopefully, you're not trying to import HDV footage with the DSR-11, its strictly SD.
Oren Arieli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2009, 06:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 38
I finally managed to get deck control using Premiere but never got video. I had to return the deck so I guess this will go unsolved for me.

To answer your questions,

1. What is mobo?

2. Firwire is integeral.

3. Windows says I have the latest drivers.

4. No other issues with fire wire connected hard drives, cameras or decks.

5. I have tried several different power up procedures and didn't have any luck with any of them.

6. No it is not HDV footage, it is SD.
Patrick Myers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2009, 04:35 AM   #4
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
One often overlooked issue with the DSR-11 is the switch on the back for NTSC or PAL. Make sure that the switch is in the correct postition for the material you want to capture.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network