It looks like CS3 is more stable/better than CS4 but how does it edit AVCHD/H.264? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:41 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 429
It looks like CS3 is more stable/better than CS4 but how does it edit AVCHD/H.264?

I'm going to upgrade to CS3 or CS4.

I do have 2GB of ram with my winXP, BUT, I only have a 1600 MHZ processor, not 2 GHZ as in the system requirements, so I may not be able to run CS4 anyway.

It looks, from the feedback, that CS3 is more stable and lighter on the system resources requirements, but it looks like CS4 is the first version of Premiere to do AVCHD/H.264 editing (according to their website anyway).

Is this true? How do you guys with CS3 edit the footage from the new AVCHD consumer cameras?

And is the editing smooth and problem free? Or dropped frames and artifacting problems?
Ronald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 02:53 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
If you want to edit AVCHD material, get a beast of a machine and CS4. Even people with dual Xeon quad cores and 16 GB of RAM, have problems with AVCHD.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 03:06 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 429
I think I found a solution.

Adobe Elements 7 looks good for me. Does AVCHD and looks easy to use. Anyone here use it?
Ronald Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 07:09 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 231
Cineform neoscene is the solution to a slow system.

Videoguys.com - CineForm Neo Scene PC

Jun
__________________
Sony Z7U, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-105 F4L, Canon 70-200 F2.8L, Canon 580 EXII, Zoom H2.
Jun Galinato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 07:11 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Harm's a wise man and his point is well made. It's not the software, it's the hardware. You'll want a real rock crusher of a machine to handle the high overhead of AVCHD. Depending upon how long your piece is, you might want to use an intermediate codec. I have an HF100 that I mix with at least three other HDV cameras in CS3 and I transcode to QT/DNxHD and it works well.

I've heard tell of a Cineform intermediate for AVCHD. You might want to check that out. Many like Cineform products but I'm not a big fan.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 07:40 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 233
I've had CS4 for two weeks. There are MANY improvements over CS3, and it is lightning fast in all ways.

It has been rock solid. All bugs have been eliminated.
Brian Barkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 08:31 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Barkley View Post
I've had CS4 for two weeks. There are MANY improvements over CS3, and it is lightning fast in all ways.

It has been rock solid. All bugs have been eliminated.
That is slightly overdone. There are still a number of bugs and Adobe is aware of them but has not yet been able to solve them. Maybe in CS6.

Example: Connect an external monitor over firewire, set audio to desktop audio, play the timeline and the program monitor freezes. Set audio to external device, play the timeline and the program monitor does NOT freeze.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 12:00 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
> How do you guys with CS3 edit the footage from the new AVCHD consumer cameras?

Convert to Cineform intermediate and edit that. Works great, even on my puny laptop (2GHz, 2GB RAM).
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 04:57 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 74
I've got a dual quad core workstation (2GHz) with 8GB of RAM, and AVCHD from a Panasonic HMC-150 plays back MUCH smoother for me now after the 4.1 update. 720p footage even plays back pretty smooth on my Core 2 Duo laptop.

I agree that if you want to edit native AVCHD, you need to have a pretty strong computer.
Eric Addison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 07:32 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 91
I use a Dual Core E6550 with 3 gigs ram, Production Premium, Neoscene. Works great! With effects and multiple tracks it won't edit real time but no other problems.
David Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dayton, TN (USA)
Posts: 219
I realize this is slightly unorthodox, but the best way I've found to edit AVCHD in CS3 without purchasing an expensive third-party plugin is to convert it to WMV (maintain your HD settings) and then import the WMV files to CS3 to edit. Unorthodox, but can be done for free and it works.
__________________
David Beisner
Media Specialist, Bryan College, Dayton, TN -- www.bryan.edu
David Beisner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2009, 07:44 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Beisner View Post
I realize this is slightly unorthodox, but the best way I've found to edit AVCHD in CS3 without purchasing an expensive third-party plugin is to convert it to WMV (maintain your HD settings) and then import the WMV files to CS3 to edit. Unorthodox, but can be done for free and it works.
As long as you realize that every conversion entails quality loss.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network