After Effects and Premiere? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 27th, 2004, 09:25 PM   #1
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1
After Effects and Premiere?

I am a little new to after effects and am wondering what you use it for. I know you add visual effects, but can you combine it with premiere? how do you usually go about using after effects and premiere?
Gary W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2004, 06:38 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Edit first in Premiere and when done export that to AE for futher
work. Sometimes you can also work on a specific sequence if that
is needed, ofcourse. AE has more professional tools for things like
rotoscoping, matting and things like color correction and effects.
It takes it futher than Premiere does. But it is a complicated package!

Rob Lohman,
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search for quick answers | Buy from the best: sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2004, 01:57 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 75
Indeed it is... I use After Effects mainly for my intro's.
Pat Engh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2004, 06:57 AM   #4
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,092
Hi Gary,

I'm fairly new to AE also and found it daunting, but very glad I took the time to learn it (at least to the grade school level!).

As Rob wrote, the programs are complimentary to each other. It is sort of like if you owned a Hummer and a Prius; both do the basic function of going down the road, but if you're off-road in a mountain pass, you want the Hummer. On the other hand, if you're just toddling along to work in the morning, the Prius is more efficient.

PPro makes assembling your overall timeline, and final tweaking, simple and efficient. But if certain scenes need sophisticated effects or corrections, AE is the tool.

Put more directly, PPro is project-centric software, and AE is clip-centric. Generally, you'll export a clip from PPro that "needs work", do the compositing or rotoscoping or whatever in AE, then export the clip back to PPro for incorporation into the timeline.

BTW, if one's budget allows, even as a novice I recommend springing for AE Pro rather than Standard. I agonized over my upgrade path when the Adobe Video Collection 1.5 upgrades came out but decided to go all the way. I IMMEDIATELY had uses for features like Motion Tracking that are only in the Pro version. Very glad I did go with the AE Pro.

Best wishes,
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network