Frame to frame at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 31st, 2004, 05:11 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
Frame to frame

Hello
In Premiere pro 1.5 when putting a paper clip in way frame with
zoom to the maximum, I observe that the current-time indicator
(vertical red line) does not cross frames one by one.
Somebody has observed this? How it is corrected? It is normal?

Thanks.
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 06:28 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Eloy,

I'm sorry but I do not understand what you mean.

Can you word your message a little bit better?

What do you mean by paper clip?

Thanks,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 07:09 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
I really feel it, I use a bad system of translation. I have an image
that could explain this, but do not know like sending it.

Thanks
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 08:20 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
hello,

when the Timeline is frame mode, with the zoom
to maximum, the current-time indicator frames does not jump one by one. If indicator it is in frame, if we go to following frame the indicator would have to be located clearly in this frame and
sometimes the current-time indicator is placed between two frames.
Thank for its effort to understand me, and hope that it is a
problem of configuration and not of Premiere.

Thanks
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 01:21 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I inderstand.

You want each little picture icon on the timeline to represent one frame like it used to in Premiere 6.5.

I want this also. But it will not happen.

Adobe did not make this possible in Premiere Pro. I put in a feature request for it. Maybe they will add it.
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 01:59 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hello,

I think I understand now...

I would say that this is a bug.

As it says in the help file, "The number of thumbnail frames corresponds to the time units displayed in the timeline ruler".

Since you are zoomed fully (1 frame), the thumbnails should correspond to the timeline, which as you have found out it does not.

Thanks,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 02:16 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
The problem is that you can't zoom in to one frame. The lowest zoom level is slightly more than that. A little over one frame.

Most people do not use the timeline to edit frame by frame. They use the source or monitor window. Or sometimes the trim window.

Therefore, the ability to see a single frame on the timeline somehow got lost when the features were determined for Premiere Pro.
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 02:41 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
P6.5 zooms down to 5 frames, the same as PP, and yet is able to show 1 thumbnail (size) per frame. The thumbnail frame size seems slightly larger in PP. It gets worse if you make the track bigger, as you'll get less thumbnails.
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 02:48 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Correct. If the track could get a slightly bit smaller, it would show a single frame. Or if the zoom was a little tighter.
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 02:55 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Agreed ;)

Eloy,

I hope this answered your question
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 04:07 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
Ed, Steven,

Thank you very much by his detailed explanations. My doubts have been perfectly clarified.That is very kind of you.
Eloy.
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 04:27 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Please remember to put in a feature request here:

http://www.adobe.com/support/feature.html

It is the only way we will get what we want.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2004, 05:15 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
Ok, Steven

Thanks
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network